"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Sugarloaf Rock – a different perspective

‘Sun Kissed’

I always want to capture a unique image if a location has been photographed by every man and his dog. One thing I typically do is not look at a lot of other images that way, when I arrive I can see it without other peoples images in my mind.

It took a number of attempts to capture this Sugarloaf Rock photograph. I had this idea of capturing Sugarloaf Rock as the mornings first light reached over Cape Naturaliste and hit the top of the rock. My first attempt went fairly well. I had big swells, great light, but no clouds. I returned about a month later and on the first morning had the light, but not enough swell or clouds. The following morning I was feeling confident and when I arrived to see the conditions, I was thrilled. Big swell and clouds in the sky. When the light hit the rock I was wrapped! This particular frame I am so happy to have captured. Being setup near the water and low with my wide angle lens can always be risky. This particular wave nearly swept me and my gear in for a swim. As it crashed I hit the shutter and as soon as it finished lifted the tripod up in the air and held on to some rocks. I didn’t realise I had captured this until I got home. Waiting for these to return and hopefully have conditions line up was all worth it!

sugarloaf

 

 

2 responses

  1. Pretty neat idea Dylan! I like your idea of not going to a place with a tainted view, I admit I do the exact opposite and I’ve got to say, I come away with similiar images to others, which is often not exciting. I had a laugh picturing you picking up the tripod as the waves came in; it’s something I’ve practiced down in Albany and got quite good at. You do get the odd surprise wave which is faster than you though haha. The wave motion works nicely for me here, looks like you pulled off your idea pretty well too.

    March 29, 2014 at 6:41 pm

  2. Amazing photo! I’ll have to remember this trick of lifting the tripod up when a wave comes crashing. 🙂

    May 13, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

