"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

The Pinnacles & The Milky Way

Well you may have read that I mentioned re-shooting my previous Pinnacles composition. I returned to the same spot a month later to the day, during the same moon phase, to capture this photograph, and correct some flaws from my first attempt. I also had the 16-35mm f2.8 this time rather than the 17-40mm f4 that the first was shot with. My first attempt wouldn’t have been good for printing as the foreground lacked sharpness and was too noisy.

I have captured the scene with a better understanding of what needed to be done to capture this scene under tricky conditions. Photographs like this I tend to really plan out my settings well before the shoot. I am wrapped with the results. This photograph is pin-sharp, with the noise problems in the foreground being eliminated.

Sara and I were sitting here for 3 or more hours. We watched the sunset, the milk way come out in full force and then watched the moonrise. It was something I will never forget and I am stocked to have captured the vision.

‘The Other World’

the-other-world

One response

  1. Great comp. looks like smoke almost

    June 2, 2013 at 11:05 am

Leave a Reply

