"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Sugarloaf Rock

Hey everyone!

Over the weekend just passed my girlfriend and I made a late decision to head a few hours south for the night! Neither of us had been to Dunsborough or surrounding towns since 2009 so the trip was well overdue!

As we pulled into the town we found a carpark right outside of my mate Christian Fletcher’s gallery and figured may as well go in for a browse. Sure enough the man himself was there along with Peter Eastway and Les Walkling! It was the first time I had a chance to meet and speak with Peter and Les and I was stoked!

That night we headed to Sugarloaf Rock for sunset. After eating our dinner at the lookout we left the car and on que Christian and Michael Fletcher, Peter, Les and Tony Hewitt (I think Tony was there…) arrive. Getting to shoot the same location with some of the biggest names in the business some of which have been awarded ‘Masters of Photography’ was pretty cool!

Anyway, I knew that I didnt want to capture Sugarloaf as your typical panoramic that has been done a million times. I really wanted to find a spot at the water with a bit of white wash to draw the eye to the Rock itself. Lucky enough I found just that!

Here is the end result after being swarmed by mossies!

Enjoy!

6 responses

  1. very nice shot man. really like this composition, you’ve got some great depth in the image. fantastic colours too 🙂

    February 13, 2012 at 11:18 pm

  2. Emily

    Dylan, I’m never gonna be able to decide what photo to buy next….each is more beautiful than the last! Put my name on this one….we’ll see!

    February 14, 2012 at 7:19 am

    • Thanks Emily! They are all super easy to buy off my new website now! A much faster process!

      February 14, 2012 at 9:21 am

  3. It was worth the mozzie bites, beautiful shot and different from the usual

    February 17, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

