"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Finally got it!

Well I have photographed this location about 4 times now I think and never walked away with something im happy with. Now I have. I had been waiting for the last 8 months or so for the right conditions while I was free. It had to have been raining and still be overcast and during Autumn so the floor was covered in autumn leaves.

I love this tree! It’s root system is just amazing!

It had to have rained heavily before I would get my shot because otherwise the tree would be blotchy n white like my previous captures which I didnt like.

I have tried so many angles on this tree over the years and hope this one does it justice. My last pano of it didnt seem to capture its sheer size but now with some trees visible in the background there is a bit of scale which I think is what it needed.

I spent about 2 hours there today in the light rain which was awesome. It did poor down for a while but that didnt last long. The rain makes everything so vibrant and the leaves were just stunning.

I have another shot from here that I will post up tomorrow that I kinda like too! πŸ™‚

My girlfriend Sara loves this spot so I hope my shot gets her approval πŸ˜›

This is a bunch of images stitched (bout 7 or 8) on the mk2, iso50 @ Ζ’22, circular polariser.

12 responses

  1. love it mate very nice colours in this i see why you keep going back
    cheers phil

    June 1, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    • Cheers Phil! I think I finally captured it!

      June 1, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  2. Looks awesome mate. I can imagine it printed very large and looking joy! Like I told you earlier, as soon as you posted on Facebook that you were shooting, I actually knew exactly where you were going!!!

    Keep it up mate

    Ryan

    June 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    • Cheers Ryan! yeah gotta love the nice big stitched files! they are so sharp!
      Or maybe you were stalking me! haha just joking! it was perfect weather for it! nice and rainy!

      June 1, 2011 at 10:55 pm

  3. Tony Middleton

    Yep – I think you have just about nailed it this time Beau – awesome mate !

    June 2, 2011 at 5:47 am

    • Beau or Dylan? lol cheers mate!

      June 2, 2011 at 10:36 am

  4. Tony Middleton

    Err Dylan ! too many blogs open at once ! haha

    June 2, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    • haha I will let it slide this time mate πŸ˜‰ haha
      cheers

      June 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  5. That is a cool tree. Looks like the roots are reaching out to grab you.

    June 2, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    • Thats Eden! the roots are just huge!

      June 3, 2011 at 12:30 am

  6. Excellent job on capturing, looks like the persistence paid off.

    June 7, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    • Cheers mate! Yep cant stop till I get it right, and then I can relax πŸ™‚

      June 7, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

