"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

What I dream of!

Well last week I was up and about Perth shooting like mad! It’s when I go out and come home with no nice pictures that I cant stop shooting till I get a keeper! This lead to 3 early sunrises (4am starts since WA doesnt have daylight savings) and 3 sunset shoots.

On this particular morning I had been planning to photograph the city but as I rocked up to South Perth I wasnt impressed. The whole drive from mine to the city I was trying to see if their were clouds behind me but it was pitch black. Sitting at South Perth I went with my gut (and my 4am check of bom’s satellite image) and headed to Como to shoot the jetty which I drive past everyday for uni yet had never photographed it.

When I rocked up I could see some clouds and with a clear horizon to the east I knew I was in for a good one! I probably looked like I was part of a walking competition as I paced across the bridge and then began to run to the jetty. Turned out I ended up waiting another 15-20 mins for the best light but man was I excited! The river was very still, no one was around and the light show was about to begin!

Although its a bit hard to see on this small web file, there is a seagull sitting mid-way down the jetty.

This was one of the best sunrises I have ever seen and it makes those early starts all worth while! Everything came together so perfectly as this ‘storm’ front moved in over the city.

This is what I captured, an 8 image stitch at 50mm on the mk2. Pitty my lee grads hadnt arrived yet they would have been nicer to use than the bloody cokins!

10 responses

  1. Very nice clouds and sounds like a brilliant morning.

    I must admit to not liking Jetty shots. They are such a cliche. They sell like hot cakes I gather but they’re not for me 🙂 Hard to please and why I don’t sell enough, I don’t shoot jetties nor pretty beaches 🙂

    January 12, 2011 at 10:07 am

  2. So you dont like jettys or waterfalls! Imagine if you photographed both you’d be a millionaire mate!

    January 12, 2011 at 10:12 am

  3. I like it.

    Just one thing , could you make your shots a little larger maybe 1400 wide so we can see them a little better.

    Cheers.

    January 12, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • cheers merv
      maybe i never like to post images to large on the net!

      January 12, 2011 at 11:04 am

  4. Hey Dylan,

    That is one sweet image. Good to see all the hard work paid off.

    Jamie

    January 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    • Cheers mr paterson! glad you like it

      January 12, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  5. Tony Middleton

    Nice one Dylan – that sky is on fire ! well worth the effort indeed mate !
    cheers,

    January 13, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    • Cheers Tony!
      this image I am very proud of and am so grateful I got out of bed for! Moments like these a lot of people never see so will be great to present on… hmm im thinking metallic at around 60 inches! 😛 once i get some cash to print n frame it hahaha

      Got a new image from St Kilda pier last night…. do I like it… not particularly but will be interested in some feed back cause i might think its shit but good to get a reaction from everyone

      January 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm

  6. There’s nothing like an sunrise vindicating a pre-dawn start. Great shot!

    Cheers,
    Lloyd

    January 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

    • Yeah im really happy that I got up for this one! Great start to 2011!

      January 26, 2011 at 9:21 am

Leave a Reply

