"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Working at it

Ever since i posted the original shot of this image I had second thoughts about it… I felt like I had managed to cook the image in PS. After numerous attempts over the past 6 months to get it right I finally did last night! I think anyway… πŸ˜›

This time around I used a different capture, took a accurate white balance reading, and kept photoshop to only a few layers! This gave the more natural look I strive for and still showed of the sunlight exploding on the mountain (which I waited 3 nights for!) The previous two nights had clouds blocking the sunlight from reaching the moutain but I knew that if there was a gap one night the mountain would look sweet! And it did!

For anyone who hadnt read the original post, I camped about 200m from this location with two cousins in the mountains in the western part of colorado. This little stream was amazing but freezing! The whole time I was shooting this scene I had my eyes peeled for bears and coyotes! Bit more used to the aussie snakes and kangas!

 

4 responses

  1. The net has really darkened the entire image for some reason….

    January 2, 2011 at 11:25 am

  2. Luke Austin

    Yeah looks good Dylan. I do remember the initial image being a little unbalanced exposure wise but you have corrected that here.
    Proves that it pays off revisiting images.

    January 2, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    • Cheers luke! Yeah less (photoshop) is more! Also well selected white balance along with 6 months worth of persistancew

      January 2, 2011 at 1:51 pm

  3. MatthewSaul

    Hi Dylan,
    definatly worth the revisit. I like the shot. Has all the elements of a great scene!
    The only thing i dont like is the dead tree in the centre of the frame, sort of draws me to it and it isnt very appealing. I wonder if you can clone it out? then it would be a cracker in my opinion πŸ™‚

    January 3, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Leave a Reply

