"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Sand Blasted

Well had another awesome trip up to wedge over the weekend and took me camera again. I was still in need of a decent sand dune photo and i got one…. but at a cost :P. I got dropped off around the back side of the dunes and spent a couple hours wondering around in the dunes by myself looking for good lines and shadows. It was windy as hell in the dunes but i wanted a photo and plus the sand being blown around looked awesome! I knew i had to be careful with my camera but if i wanted to get a good shot the camera would cop some sand, and it did. I kept taking photos even though i could hear the shutter not working properly, and eventually it wouldnt take anymore. What also wasnt helping is earlier that day i noticed a sound coming from my camera when i lightly shook it…. (i had a feeling it was a bug as it would show up in different spots in images) was getting increasingly annoying as it was interrupting many shots, which meant my camera was out from under my shirt for longer periods of time. So I got back to the shack to continue drinking with the lads a little disappointed that my camera was rooted only to wake up the next morning andhave it take photos almost perfectly again, apart from the dust on the sensor….

In the end I got some nice shots, and my camera will be in for a thorough clean very soon! πŸ™‚

20 responses

  1. great shot dylan, looks freaking windy!

    March 8, 2010 at 6:09 pm

  2. man that is just a bloody awesome shot hey!
    i absolutely love it, honestly not too sure what to even say about it…

    well worth wandering round getting blasted by the sand- probably even worth the scare with the camera! but good to hear it functioned again well the next day! πŸ™‚

    March 8, 2010 at 8:18 pm

  3. Cheers Ryan! Windy as fcuk

    thanks a lot stephen means a lot mate!
    not for a split second did i regret my decision to take me camera into the sand storm! not once! πŸ™‚

    March 8, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  4. dude this is your best shot ive seen love it!!! im heading up to fraser island next week so hoping to get some good duned shots for the collection

    March 8, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  5. Cheers Darren! πŸ™‚

    March 8, 2010 at 11:00 pm

  6. Not bad mate, great composition, how wide was the lens?

    March 9, 2010 at 3:51 pm

  7. Cheers Thomas
    i cant remember mate but probs around 12mm-15mm on me wide angle…. if i had to guess

    March 9, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  8. Nice shot Dylan, worth trashing a Canon for I reckon.

    March 9, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  9. hahah well ill agree if u more specifically mean a 400d! haha

    March 9, 2010 at 7:34 pm

  10. Man this is awesome! love it! I tried getting similar in Lancelin but couldn’t get the blowing sand to show on the white sand! the 5d mkII and 16-35 held up good in the sand though πŸ˜›

    March 9, 2010 at 7:42 pm

  11. Cheers mate!
    your all such bullys with your nice cameras! im still stuck with the 400!
    Hey any donations welcome towards the 5D mk2 funds!

    March 9, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  12. Nice, your best for a while IMHO.

    I’m selling a 40d in excellent nik if want one.

    Drop me an email if your interested.

    March 9, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  13. Cheers mate
    would only take it off ya hands real cheap to be honest cause i really wanna get a full frame next

    March 9, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  14. A favourite of yours for a while now mate. Good stuff

    March 10, 2010 at 12:52 pm

  15. That’s really nice, man. One of your better ones recently. Good to see you shooting some landscapes again! πŸ˜‰

    Shame about the camera getting messed up, but at least it’s still working! I’m upgrading to the MkII in a few days, want my 5D? Heh.

    March 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm

  16. Well i do love this shot too but still think some of the recent landscape posts have been pretty good πŸ˜›

    Beau id love your 5D hahaha
    but i dont think i could afford it being a uni student and all! but if u are looking to sell it let me know how much u want! πŸ™‚

    March 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  17. philback

    awesome shot dude was it a stitch or single shot mate

    March 10, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  18. single frame mate
    no stitching with a wide angle
    didnt even take me tripod into the dunes. if i had of left the camera exposed to the sand and wind long enough to set up the tripod each time, the camera probs would have just blown up!

    March 10, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  19. Been too long since I visited your blog mate, sorry about that. This one caught my eye not surprisingly. It is really well done, you looked hard and long for a leading s-line composition and got a really awesome Dune shot. Me thinks you could be ready for Namibia πŸ™‚

    March 13, 2010 at 8:57 pm

  20. cheers Flemming! your comment is very much appreciated!
    and your right you havent visited me blog in yonkers! lol

    March 14, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

