"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Perth is Boring, but Sometimes it Performs

Long Title! I wanted to go out and shoot something other than cars in Perth for the first time in a long time. I went to trusty old Mossie Boat Shed. Although i have shot it so many times I have never been completely satisfied with my results. Tonight I got something I am very pleased with! Having said that, while I was shooting I wanted a new angle and due to long exposures i wanted for the cloud movement, i got bored waiting for the shutter to close! I took this photo from in the water and even though i was a little bored, it was incredibly relaxing to be out shooting ‘landscapes’ for the first time since Dunsborough.

I shot this on my camera which is always tuff for me to comit to a single frame, where as when i have the 5D mkii I love to do single frames! I do have panos from here but I havent looked at them yet as I am pretty wrapped with this photo.

winter_blues_jpeg_frame

7 responses

  1. Beautiful shot Dylan, love the long exposure and the nice bule grey tones in the processing. The MkII would have made a big difference to the noise in the clouds here, but better to get the shot than not.

    June 23, 2009 at 9:12 am

  2. dylanfox

    Cheers Michael!
    I should have mentioned this in the post… there is suprisingly no noise to talk of in this file, the clouds just grabbed some when i sharpened it for the web. When printed it will obviously need selective sharpening.
    Cheers

    June 23, 2009 at 10:28 am

  3. kirkhille

    nice shots mate like the two tone effect

    June 24, 2009 at 11:08 am

  4. Cheers Kirk! Im not sure which i prefer… this, or the pano… might just use both for the gallery!

    June 24, 2009 at 1:13 pm

  5. Nice, Dylan. I think I prefer the pano, but it’s definitely a hard choice. I really enjoy single frames now with my 5D, but like you I wanted to stitch with the 350D.

    June 24, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  6. Beau single frames are a bitch! But i think i will be able to print this up to 40 inches at least!
    I like this shot for the simplicity and the awesome cloud movement but the pano has great intensity! 🙂

    June 24, 2009 at 10:48 pm

  7. philback

    hey foxy nice shots mate looking good
    yeah im the same mate love my single frames to less editing required hehe

    philbo

    June 29, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Leave a Reply

