"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Clueless!

Clint, Phil and myself spent a couple hours or so down Wyadup way taking wave photos… and I got a little creative with some beach sand photos (coming soon). 😉

The waves were huge and were carrying some incredible power and my once dry shoes experienced that first hand.My real goal was to capture the enormity and strength of the waves and I think this photo does them justice.

the_perfect_wave_jpeg_frame

Now I am sure Clint and Phil got some great images… but they were far from their peaks, because they were simply clueless on the correct posture one must assume before ever touching the shutter button! Heres examples of how they shoot…

clint_blog phil_blog

Now yes they look very good and professional in these images… but they are not adding any ‘artistic’ flare to their images this way…. If you want stunning results you have to shoot in this manner…

how_to_take_a_photo_blog

And BANG!! you get amazing results!! And the vignette in my photo is all real baby!

11 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    finally i know why my shots arent as good……. ill try it today at Rhine Falls and see how i go…. bloody ripper mate

    May 20, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  2. philback

    hahahahaha bloody funny mate i now see the light ill try and be abit more artistic like you bro
    nice shots by the way
    phil

    May 20, 2009 at 4:02 pm

  3. NIce killer capture of the wave Dylan.

    May 20, 2009 at 5:16 pm

  4. nice shot of the wave mate Wyadup would have to be one of my favourite place to shoot

    May 20, 2009 at 8:00 pm

  5. Havent seen you on this blog in a while mate! 😉
    Yeah wyadup was probably my favourite spot! Partly cause everytime we went I came back with some good stuff! lol

    May 21, 2009 at 12:32 am

  6. Cool series of shot. Really nice curve in that wave shot too. Bit of humour too. This post has it all.

    May 21, 2009 at 3:52 am

  7. Awesome capture Dylan. The waves that day were just awesome. I can’t wait to get back down there in Winter when there is a real swell coming through.

    May 21, 2009 at 8:36 am

  8. Cheers Luke! What can I say… I am the complete package! 😉
    yeah it was a great day Jamie! I cant wait to get back down there…. just have to come up with a plan to cut Clints Greece trip short….. haha

    May 21, 2009 at 9:13 am

  9. HAHA.

    Dude, that first photo is awesome. I reckon it could do with a little more contrast, but the composition,colour and sharpness are all good.

    May 21, 2009 at 12:57 pm

  10. Mark Temov

    Is that my camera I see getting waved above your head ready to fall down the rocks into the Indian Ocean??? MMMMMMM

    May 25, 2009 at 2:01 pm

  11. thats debatable
    If this photos wasnt taken by some idiot using a Nikon, there would be a much sharper image to zoom in on and find out! 😉

    May 25, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

