"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

What a Day!

Well here is a shot I took last year in the Rockies. We pulled over at around tree line (im just in shorst and a shirt!) and I said would only be 15-20 mins… that quickly turned into over an hour! I got another shot from this area that is on me site but for some reason I never got round to editing this one. I remember the light hitting those distant mountains so perfectly!

Now Im a little stumped as to which image I prefer…. remembering that I love b&w explains why i am stumped!

cascading_jpeg_frame cascading_bw_jpeg_frame

12 responses

  1. The B&W is nice, but I think I prefer the colour version, as it provides a richer visual experience, with the colours in the foreground, the water, trees, mountains, and the clouds.

    May 1, 2009 at 10:45 am

  2. dylanfox

    Cheers mate!
    Thats what I am slowly leaning towards!
    Being a Ansel Adams fan, it always hard not to test out these mountain type scenes as b&w.

    May 1, 2009 at 10:52 am

  3. Nice. I prefer the colour version, has a great spectrum of colours.

    May 1, 2009 at 1:42 pm

  4. dylanfox

    Cheers Graham

    May 1, 2009 at 2:43 pm

  5. I like the colour as well, I don’t think the B&W gives enough depth and doesn’t do the scenery justice. I really like that you can relive pictures that you’ve taken a while ago, I tend to have ill feelings about my past photography, whether it be yesterday or a year ago.

    Haha, but I’m weird 😉

    May 1, 2009 at 11:33 pm

  6. lukeaustin

    Both really nice shots Dylan. The colour version has more depth to it, but I think I like them equally as much.

    May 3, 2009 at 3:12 am

  7. The colour definitely wins, in my opinion, man. Although, I generally always prefer colour over b&w when it comes to nature scenes.

    May 3, 2009 at 11:41 am

  8. Cheers Katie!
    Cheers Luke, mate how is the other side of the world going?
    Cheers Beau. Have you looked at much Ansel Adams stuff?… that might make b&w landscapes a little more exciting for ya! 😉

    May 3, 2009 at 10:28 pm

  9. lukeaustin

    Yeah good Dylan, love it over here. I haven’t been out shooting much yet, but I plan to pretty soon as I just got myself a car. Yeeehar! I`ll hopefully have some images to post in a couple of weeks time.

    May 4, 2009 at 12:27 am

  10. Very lucky mate!
    You will no doubt be showing us some awesome photos!

    May 4, 2009 at 5:58 pm

  11. That totally black stripe at the top is kinda distracting I find, I would crop that. And the highlights seem burned out in both versions, doing in highlight details. But apart from that it’s a wicked Ansel scenery shot!

    I find the colour version a bit busy and as I’m no fan of green, I really like the BW version. It needs a bit more work maybe, and it’s a shame the highlights are blown – but still good mate!

    May 5, 2009 at 9:22 pm

  12. i think i’m in favour of the colour too.
    there’s nothing worse then not being able to decide which you prefer hey! i find it’s always parts of each i like

    May 7, 2009 at 2:39 pm

Leave a Reply

