"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Website Launched!

Well the site is finally up and I have to give a big thanks to Beau for all his hard work and putting up with me! I think theres a few on me now mate!

The site had to be launched with out a set date cause last Sunday I was told of a local fair that was looking for donations to auction off. I donated a 40 inch framed print of Meelup Beach. So having done that I needed business cards to put with the print so people could view my site, and I certainly wasnt about to send them to my old site!

www.dylanfox.com.au

13 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    looks bloody great mate!!!! and those new shots look even better!!!

    March 27, 2009 at 12:03 pm

  2. Cheers Clint.
    Thank me for pics and Beau for webpage! πŸ™‚

    March 27, 2009 at 12:21 pm

  3. Looks really nice and very clean and pro, great work Beau and Dylan!!

    I think the website complements and highlights your style of photography Dylan – very contrasty (the black and white parts) with a dose of very strong saturated colour (the DF logo).

    I like the new images, especially Dry Seasons, Hanging Rock Woodend and Old Tree Woodend – great outback shots!

    Hope you don’t mind a bit of negative feedback as well, I gotta say that I really dislike the gallery image browser. There are a few things that I feel do not work with this particular image browser:
    – Your shots is mostly pano so why square thumbs where the viewer and potential customer can only see 1/3 of the image?
    – The full size image popups load incredible slow. I’m on a 10mbit connection on a very fast PC and it takes 30-60 secs at least to load an image. It’s sooooo slow.
    – With image popups you don’t have a separate page/link per image. If if was me I would end up needing this, as a generated page per image means you can add much more image information on every image and it also means you can like to a single image. I get requests like “What do you have from Windjana Gorge that’ll fit a two page spread” and I can easily email some suggestions with links to the image pages. You may not want this feature of course, just a bit of a tip.

    March 27, 2009 at 4:38 pm

  4. I do agree about the loading being slow Flemming which i will change eventually. The average interenet user will only wait 10 seconds for something to load and if it doesnt they will leave!
    I like the square format for the thumbnails as it makes the page uniform (as I dont often follow strict ratios).

    March 27, 2009 at 8:56 pm

  5. Great to see your site up Dylan. Looks pretty shmick, nice work Beau.
    I hope you do well from it.
    We’ll have to catch up for a shoot before I go away, that’s if your able to walk?

    March 28, 2009 at 12:03 pm

  6. Cheers Luke!
    I would love to go out for a shoot soon! Thing is…. not to good on sand, rocks, or anything thats not flat really! haha

    March 28, 2009 at 12:08 pm

  7. New site looks great. Clean and professional. Good luck, I hope you make plenty of sales, you have some great pictures.

    March 30, 2009 at 10:53 pm

  8. Nice website, shame about the ankle. I’m not to sure about the square thumbnails, looks like you’re selling photos from a 6×6. Sorry mate but I’m with Flemming with this one. Get well soon, maybe buy a Ford.

    April 1, 2009 at 8:19 pm

  9. dylanfox

    Yeah but if I bought a Ford I would have to push it every where cause they are useless! πŸ˜‰

    April 1, 2009 at 8:22 pm

  10. New thought, add a notice on the pages off thumbnails explaining that us web surfers ‘need’ to click the thumbnail to see the whole image.

    April 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm

  11. I can’t argue with that, I drive a Urabus;)

    April 1, 2009 at 8:26 pm

  12. dylanfox

    Yeah I might do that later cause now I am leanring to build web pages. And think Im doing alright lol

    April 1, 2009 at 8:28 pm

  13. You is doin’ better than me! Good luck, it’s a good skill to have these days and may earn you some coin.

    April 1, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

