"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Clouds in Perth!

This weekend brought about some awesome clouds that seemed to never leave! I went out after midday on staurday for some simple cloud shots and then got a msg from Clint. Met up with him in Kings park and we then headed to the foreshore under narrows bridge. Now if theres any other photographer your going to walk into on a shoot it’s Luke… and we did! So the three of us were there taking photos for quite some time and talking about new gear and how freakin cool the mkII is (even though their both Nikon boys!). I love the live view and the brightness histogram you can preview in live mode! We talked about the weather and Luke even predicted some thunderstorms that we did get later on!

Heres the cloudscape from Saturday and there will be more to come! This is one of my favourite images that I have taken in a while (I think) because i love a simple composition and I love the sky! Many of my images have a very low horizon which allows the composition to focus on an amazing sky above. Some times such a composition is not possible because it is often the land that is simply amazing. But a simple image such as this really apeals to me.. less is more! The 5DmkII goes back tomorrow morning but I got a lot of images to still go through from it and I will hopefully be able to get back out soon!

sky-high-jpeg-frame

7 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    very nice mate… so sad the mkII has to go back haha i saw a shot like this yesterday…. wonder where hahaha but urs has a bit more detail…

    February 2, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Cheers mate!
    This one was actually shot from the top of Reabold hill.
    I still have enough new images to go through to keep me busy this week!
    BUT I WANT THE MKII!!!!!!!!

    February 2, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  3. lukeaustin

    Love those clouds! The simplicity of the composition really shows them off.
    Oh yeah…. I believe I was harping on about how good my NIKON D700 is, not the 5DmkII. I’ve heard enough about that bloody thing!

    Hopefully I can go over a couple of shots from that afternoon over the next few days.

    Looking forward to your coming images.

    February 3, 2009 at 4:25 pm

  4. Cheers Luke!
    Yeah you werent impressed by the word Canon in general! (fuckin Nikon users!) 😉

    Yeah I got a few to go through! I tried to make my city shot a little different and tried something a havent really done before on it. It looks alright too!

    February 3, 2009 at 9:17 pm

  5. Did you get any sunset shots, the oranges at the top of the clouds was awesome. This is a keeper, start a cloud folder and build up your collection.

    February 3, 2009 at 9:29 pm

  6. Cheers Michael
    Yeah I got a few shots but nothing interesting.
    What about yourself?

    February 4, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  7. Nah I`m not count the backyard shots!

    February 4, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

