"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

5D mkII

I have been lucky enough to borrow a mkII from Mark Temov (my highschool photography teacher) before his students touch it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I went out for a shoot this morning only to have a very colourless sky and that reflected in the water. I find that the cheap Cokin filters show there colour cast the most when there are no other colours to interfear and this is what happened today. Left with a horible sky I didnt know what to do…. So I simply tried some new things in PS! And it worked! (at least I think it did). The different camera certainly gave me a different final print! It’s a 7 images stitch and its master file size is over a meter and a gig in size! Im not used to such detail!

Other than that this camera is amazing! I never want to go back to my 400d! Maybe I will just flee the state with the mkII! ๐Ÿ˜‰

while-you-were-sleeping-jpeg-frame

and of course one of the car! This is a two image HDR. The awesome white windscreenย  is from the overcast sky!

vh-hdr-jpeg-frame

17 responses

  1. nice pic, welcome to the 5D2 club, even if it is only temporary.

    January 29, 2009 at 7:53 pm

  2. Nice Dylan, did you find it easy to adjust to having already used a Canon before? If you have questions about commodores ask me, the only advice I have is don`t waste money on cars!!! I have only recently paid my parents back a loan for my VB converted to a VK Calais – full undercarriage painted 2pak engine $15K etc. Very silly boy I was!

    January 29, 2009 at 8:35 pm

  3. Yeah, no shit, cars are bottomless money pits! Haha. Just spent well over a grand on mine so that I was able to transfer from WA registered to QLD registered. Grr…

    The Applecross image is cool! I love that jetty ey, I don’t think I have taken a bad shot there yet. I think your processing worked fine, mate.

    January 29, 2009 at 9:07 pm

  4. kirkhille

    nice shot like the top image nice editing .
    Yeah I fell into the same boat and wasted too much money on cars
    $20 K just for a sound system , it was fun at the time but if i knew what i know now there not way I would be droping cash like that into cars .

    January 29, 2009 at 10:13 pm

  5. dylanfox

    Cheers Fletch! Gotta love this camera!

    Michael Canon are so user friendly! I have no problems yet. It took all of 20 mins maybe to work it all out!

    I do love cars, and I know just about every 18 year old says this, but I do want this to be my car for a long time! Which will mean money will have to be spent. I would like to put a 355 in it or maybe a chevy engine some day but for now I am wrapped with it!
    You wouldnt happen to still have that Calais would ya? haha wouldnt mind seeing it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think my next 6 or so thousand will be the mk2 and a lens though!
    Cheers mate!

    January 29, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  6. dylanfox

    Yeah Beau that really does suck!
    Your right this jetty always seems to produce great shots!

    Kirk I think I would rather put 20K to a nice 400hp engine! haha
    Werent you selling that sound system? Theres a quick way to get a mk2 in ya hands!

    January 29, 2009 at 10:32 pm

  7. I love the strong duotone treatment you added to this shot, wonderful drama. I would actually prefer this sort of cloudscape shot without the jetty in the frame though, I would shoot it from the end of the jetty. That’s just me ๐Ÿ™‚

    The 5D Mk II is bloody amazing and I love mine – although it does get a bit hyped. The old 5D was also an amazing camera. The 5D has more lovely pixels and of course video but image quality was also fantastic on the good old Mk I 5D.

    January 30, 2009 at 2:39 am

  8. Nice simplistic image mate. Classy, Im planning on a 5D mkII for the new financial year.

    Tom

    January 30, 2009 at 6:32 am

  9. dylanfox

    Cheers Flemming. I have obviously done a lot of images that basically a cloudscape with a smidge of land (the header for example). But I dont like them to have any buildings or anything distracting in them. I really do keep the simple! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Tom!
    I was gonna go out and shoot before wor this morning but decided not to because i was so tired last night! Lucky me I woke up and looked out my window during sunrise and saw some awesome colour! Damn it!!!

    January 30, 2009 at 7:38 am

  10. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hey Dylan,

    I’m a minute down the road from of this jetty. You should’ve given me a shout. LOL.

    Jamie Paterson

    January 30, 2009 at 8:27 am

  11. kirkhille

    Pick mine up and a new lens next week ๐Ÿ™‚ cant wait

    January 30, 2009 at 6:10 pm

  12. dylanfox

    Lucky pric! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    January 30, 2009 at 6:12 pm

  13. Clint Baker

    im normally a minute from the jetty too, i love that jetty. very cool work u have done to it mate…. i think i need to start doing some crazy PS work…. maybe i will right now haha

    January 30, 2009 at 6:38 pm

  14. lukeaustin

    Nice treatment Dylan, it came up a treat.

    January 30, 2009 at 6:50 pm

  15. Clint Baker

    u keen for a shoot 2nite??

    January 31, 2009 at 3:06 pm

  16. Mark Temov

    Keep up the good work junior…………oh and make sure I get that camera back in 1 piece!!! I hope you get some more good stuff on it, although you will do as good on your trusty camera.

    January 31, 2009 at 3:11 pm

  17. Cheers for all the great feed back guys!

    T-Bag I am thrashing this camera! Got some great city shots today!
    I might just never use the 400D againand only shoot when I can get my hands on the mkII! It’s freakin awesome!

    February 1, 2009 at 12:09 am

Leave a Reply

