"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Mends Street

Well went down to Mends Street Jetty a couple nights ago for a new shot of the place.

I took about 230 photos all up trying a few different things. This is what I have so far and I quite like it. Yes the area just above the boat has a smidge of banding but I still like it. Really draws attention to that side of the image and the rainbow helped too!

rainbow-sunsets-jpeg-frame

Cheers

16 responses

  1. Brilliant Dylan,
    Great lighting, and I like the smooth water.
    Geez is a wide shot, well done.

    Regards,
    Tom

    November 26, 2008 at 1:18 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Cheers Thomas!
    I am a big fan of the 4:1 ratio and it has been a while since I have composed an image in this format so I am glad to have finally got a new one!
    Cheers

    November 26, 2008 at 2:23 pm

  3. Clint Baker

    mate this is a bloody ripper, it looks so sharp as too well done

    November 26, 2008 at 2:59 pm

  4. dylanfox

    Thank god you blokes liked it cause usually if I like a photo no one else does! Lets see what Flemming and Merv have to say!
    Cheers Clint

    November 26, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  5. I like it Dylan, does that count 😉

    November 26, 2008 at 7:12 pm

  6. Not bad matey 🙂 Quite like it, you caught some nice light here and it’s a great view. Did you crop some sky? Would love to see more sky and more rainbow.

    It’s challenging to do composition though in such a wide format, about twice as wide as human vision and here you sorta have the two most interesting subjects on the far right and the far left.
    I don’t believe in fixed aspect ratio’s btw I believe every photo should be cropped individually be it 1:1, 3:1, 8:1 or 1:4.456456 or whatever. Cropping is one of the most powerful tools in the photographers toolbox and when I see some photographers shoot everything in 3:2 I don’t get it. Just because the sensor is in that format why would one choose that limit. Like a painter only choosing one size canvas for every single painting.

    November 26, 2008 at 8:03 pm

  7. kirkhille

    great shot mate ,
    Great light . Its hard to find new places to shot around Perth

    November 26, 2008 at 8:33 pm

  8. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    I love the way you are out there trying to find new ways to shoot old things. Puts a new perspective on things. I love this shot its fantastic.

    Thanks,

    Jamie Paterson

    November 26, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  9. totally original composition again Dylan, you are looking beyond the norm so congratulations.

    November 26, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  10. Sorry mate it’s a nup from me, although it does have some merit, I wouldn’t write it off completly.

    In my opinion it’s a bit to wide and a bit busy, too much going on, a bit clutted maybe , it’s almost 2 pictures to me. That rainbow looks like an electrical charge , if it was a rainbow it might look better. Anyway that’s just my opinion as I see it.

    As Kirke said you guys must have just about done the classical Perth stuff to death.

    November 26, 2008 at 9:39 pm

  11. I like it, Dylan. I think it’s a great composition and you’ve captured some nice colours… I gotta start getting out there some more…

    November 27, 2008 at 8:47 am

  12. Cheers Neal

    Flemming you would find if you actual tried to fit a lot of my images to a set ratio they wouldnt! I dont often use a set ratio i just crop it so it works! So I guess we are similar in that sense.

    Cheers Kirk.

    Thanks Jamie, you always help push me along mate!

    Cheers Fletch!
    You back home yet?

    Merv didnt expect a yes from ya! 😉
    Yeah we have all done Perth over a million times and I have only been in the gig for under 2 years!

    Cheers Beau! You gotta start utilizing that 5D again mate!

    November 27, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  13. jamiepatersonphotography

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with next mate.

    November 27, 2008 at 8:41 pm

  14. Probably something far better than the world has ever seen!

    November 28, 2008 at 6:03 pm

  15. jamiepatersonphotography

    Wicked. Is it ready yet? 😉

    November 30, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  16. Nice mate. Stakky like.

    December 1, 2008 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

