"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Inspired

I had a blast night at Christian course over at PRA! You gotta love being around a bunch of photographers spending the night talking and learning about photography! Christian was the reason I found my passion for landscapes, so anytime I get to learn from him, talk to him and even receive compliments is always a thrill!

After last night all I wanted to do was get out and shoot! So I set my alarm for 5am this morning and slept through it. But as many of you may have heard me mention a number of times how I am really into B&W right now (maybe cause of the midday shoots that can last for hours) I headed over to Mosman Park to get a fresh shot of the boathouse. This composition is very similar to that of my recent Rolling In image, but it does follow my latest shooting style.

inspired-mosman-park-jpeg-frame1

23 responses

  1. i think this is my favourite of your B/W images.
    like the composition and really love that sky!
    especially those couple of clouds above the sheds!
    awesome!

    November 11, 2008 at 5:52 pm

  2. Clint Baker

    Very Very nice shot mate…… and i dont really like B&W’s!!

    November 11, 2008 at 10:51 pm

  3. Cheers Stephen!
    It looks like me and Beau might remake my site so I will have it lookin good and it display only my finest work.

    Cheers Clint. Have a serious look at Ansel Adams’ work and you might fall in love with B&W….

    November 11, 2008 at 10:59 pm

  4. It was a blast last night and again learnt a lot! I like this one mate, certainly one of your best B&W’s! The clouds are great but you just need to nail a couple of the stitching errors.

    November 12, 2008 at 12:33 am

  5. Pretty good mate!! I’m a big fan of bw and duotone. I reckon your shot needs more shadow detail, I think bw photos can’t have huge chunks of blacks without detail. Also clone out that power line or whatever it is on the right, it’s distracting πŸ™‚

    November 12, 2008 at 1:04 am

  6. Cheers Richard, I havent even noticed any stitch problems….

    Flemming I tried cloning it out as I usually would at this spot but it wasnt cloning out to nicely…

    November 12, 2008 at 7:11 am

  7. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    Its a great shot. That power line is so annoying, I wish they would run it along the jetty instead and be considerate to us photographers. πŸ™‚

    Jamie Paterson

    November 12, 2008 at 7:59 am

  8. merv french

    I’m not big on BW but this is not bad. The power line has to go as others have said and I’d get rid of the block of units under it in the background,they bug me a bit but I can’t really pick any stitch errors, I’d like to see them pointed out.

    November 12, 2008 at 1:28 pm

  9. Looks pretty damn cool to me Dylan. I like the horizon lower than you usually see. I’m easy about the powerline, clone out or in. does not matter to much to me

    November 12, 2008 at 2:33 pm

  10. Tell me about it Jamie! We should right a letter! πŸ™‚

    Yeah Merv the powerline always comes out from this spot but with this particular sky it wasnt cloning to well…

    Cheers Neal. I kinda agree with you…. would all be easier if they followed Jamies plan!

    November 12, 2008 at 6:23 pm

  11. lukeaustin

    It’s good to see this scene in B&W. Suits it well. Good to catch up the other night. Did you manage to get out and shoot during the day today (Wednesday)?

    November 12, 2008 at 9:46 pm

  12. Cheers Luke!
    Yeah it was good to catch up with yaself and the rest of the gang!
    Na I was workin today and watched those fluffy white clouds roll through after me and clint watched a shit sunrise surrounded by a terrible dead fish smell in freo!
    I also heard at work that the beach was flat so probs would have made for some nice blue water shots!
    Might get up for sunrise again tomorrow…

    November 12, 2008 at 10:11 pm

  13. kirkhille

    Nice work mate ,
    Love the B&W images your getting
    I know its a pain about that power line not smartest place to put it lol

    November 12, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  14. Cheers Kirk
    Stupid non-landscape photographers!

    November 12, 2008 at 10:39 pm

  15. Thanks for the plug Dylan and for coming along for the course. I like this but I think the other boat shed pic is stronger. I haven’t ever got a good pic at this spot. I think it is actually hard to get a good composition there. cheers

    November 13, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  16. The course was great fun mate!
    Yeah I still prefer my Crawley shot over this one! Mind you ita unfair to compare shooting the two spots since the Crawley boat shed is perfect! This is my best shot of this spot spot though…
    I think Kirk has a good one of this spot that he never posted on his blog…

    November 14, 2008 at 10:27 am

  17. jamiepatersonphotography

    I keep going back to that boatshed because it is so damn hard. I’m going to get it one day.

    November 14, 2008 at 11:12 am

  18. I think the best bet is to go to crawley instead mate! Much better location than this one!
    Its just that damn powerline!

    November 14, 2008 at 12:14 pm

  19. kirkhille

    Thanks mate I personally never liked the shot so never bothered posting it . Was just playing around with different edits and stuff . We not my favourite spot to photography I think theres on one composition that works there .

    November 14, 2008 at 1:24 pm

  20. Damn you and your Christian fletcher!! Great shot. Nice Monochrome

    Hey when are you heading up JFNP way? hurry before the water falls stop flowing!

    November 14, 2008 at 5:19 pm

  21. Is that image of yours on flickr Kirk? I dont remember where i saw it….

    Cheers Stakky! Well i dont have me own car yet but might be able to arrange to go up some time! I know a lot of us really want to go up there its just that we are all shitty organisers! πŸ˜‰

    November 15, 2008 at 4:06 pm

  22. actually Jayne and Mel are heading there tomorrow afternoon… i only want to go if some other blokes are going so do you wanna? If interested ill put some directions on my blog.

    November 15, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  23. yeah i just read that they were heading out
    i cant go cause i will be out with mates tomorrow

    November 15, 2008 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

