"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Shining

Well was out earlier this week with a mate going from spot to spot with the camera waiting for breaks in the rain. Went down to Matilda Bay and shot these jetty things for the first time. I actually only took this one sequence and then left so this is all i got. I wish I took another few and perfected it, but ahwell!

shining-matilda-bay-jpeg-frame1

Will re-shoot this spot soon when some more clouds roll through!

19 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    wow dylan your amazing hahahaha…… yer love the shot mate… i have never shot there before so i might have to head up there and check it out

    November 8, 2008 at 10:18 am

  2. haha cheers Clint!
    Yeah its actually a pretty nice little spot!
    This photo isnt perfect so I will be back!

    November 8, 2008 at 11:47 am

  3. Tis a great shot, mate. The clouds could do with a bit a bit more contrast, although Thats probably just my urge for drama talking.

    November 8, 2008 at 1:42 pm

  4. lukeaustin

    That jetty/pontoon really stands out. Great light and conditions Dylan. I am yet to get anything from this spot that I am really happy with. You’ve done bloody well….. PRICK!

    November 9, 2008 at 5:09 pm

  5. Sean you are probably right about extra contrast around the edges of the clouds but those highlight clouds will blow real bad is i add more contrast!

    Cheers Luke! Yeah the light was fantastic but like I said I took one sequence and left! (cause I am a cocky photographer!!!!)
    Luke mate are you going tomorrow night?

    November 9, 2008 at 5:30 pm

  6. lukeaustin

    Yerp. Feels a bit strange going to do a course that I have already done. As long as I come away with some more know how I’m a happy camper.

    November 9, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  7. Yeah this will be my second but I am really looking forward to it. I think this one will be a little different and will come away with some new knowledge on some new gear!

    November 9, 2008 at 10:25 pm

  8. kirkhille

    Nice editing mate ,
    Like the colors and how the jetty stands out

    November 10, 2008 at 4:17 am

  9. jamiepatersonphotography

    Dylan I think it will be a better course as you and I went on the first one. I’m guessing Christian has an excellent feel on how to drive the course now so we may be able to pick up even more info than we did the first time around.

    Jamie Paterson

    November 10, 2008 at 12:33 pm

  10. cool shot Dylan.
    love that water in front of the jetty. really makes it pop out at you.
    great work

    November 10, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  11. Jamie I bet your right too!
    Hopefully you dont walk away with another print 😉
    Cheers Stephen. Those clouds really did line up nicely for me!

    November 10, 2008 at 2:28 pm

  12. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hey Dylan,

    I was going to remove myself from the giveaway part of the night. Just in case.

    Jamie Paterson

    November 10, 2008 at 3:25 pm

  13. Beau

    Hey man, that’s a seriously nice photo! I like it.

    I’ve been concentrating a bit more on my web design as of late and am still keen to help you work on your main page if you want. I’m trying to set up a bit of a design portfolio so looking for some work to add to it. Let me know.

    November 10, 2008 at 10:53 pm

  14. dylanfox

    Beau mate havent heard from you in a while!
    Yeah I would love to a bit of website transformation.
    I guess I would ideally like to start it from scratch and make it real professional! Send me an email sometime and we can work something out!

    Thanks for the photo comment too. This image is getting a way better response than I ever thought it would!

    November 10, 2008 at 11:29 pm

  15. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hey Beau,

    I’d like some help as well. 🙂

    Jamie Paterson

    November 11, 2008 at 9:13 am

  16. That’s a nice addition to the collection Dylan.
    Well done.

    November 11, 2008 at 5:33 pm

  17. Cheers Thomas!

    November 11, 2008 at 5:42 pm

  18. love it

    November 13, 2008 at 9:43 pm

  19. Thanks Christian!

    November 14, 2008 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

