"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Dreams

After watching the sky all day on saturday and knowing it would be a good sunset and then actually seeing how amazing it really was, I had to go out Sunday arvo. I was down at the beach and noticed some nice clouds on the horizon so knew they would be rolling through later. Have been wanting to shoot Lake monger for a while cause It provides a very simple composition. I didnt expect to get such nice colour though!

This image has had a minor levels adjustment and brightened up a little with a screen layer. Have to make sure that levels layer is set to luminosity otherwise the reds were blowing out.

16 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    very nice sky mate looks great….. only thing i keep looking at is the darker line on the left hand side of the sky.
    i saw saturday nights sky it looking bloody good

    November 3, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  2. Nice simple comp Dylan love the colors. I’d clone out that little dark line though it can be a little distracting …

    November 3, 2008 at 2:34 pm

  3. i was looking at these clouds as well standing outside my house thinking “bloody hell i need a license”.
    Great pan mate. Awesome cloud blur.

    November 3, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  4. lukeaustin

    Great shot mate, you don’t get skies like that too often.

    I was in the same boat on Saturday mate. I knew it was going to be on but I had other things to do. Like yourself I just had to watch. It was bloody good, I’m sure someone on here caught something.
    I ended up down at Hillarys Boat Harbour for Sundays sunset so hopefully I also came away with something.

    November 3, 2008 at 6:23 pm

  5. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate ,
    Nice simple composition works well with the clouds .
    Love the colors .
    Have you gone through all your shots of the states already ?

    November 3, 2008 at 7:27 pm

  6. @ Kirk … Me no πŸ˜‰ working on one right now on the main mac as I type on the macbook

    November 3, 2008 at 7:41 pm

  7. kirkhille

    πŸ˜‰ Got to save them for rainy days hey Neal πŸ™‚

    November 3, 2008 at 8:35 pm

  8. Yeah Sean a license certainly helps when your a landscape photographer!

    Luke mate I wasnt pretty busy on Saturday…. drinking….
    Hope you got some hillarys shots for the blog!

    Kirk I have probably got a few more, but I dont think theres anything to incredible left! I think at the moment I have about 20 odd new American shots, so all in all a very successful trip!

    November 3, 2008 at 9:36 pm

  9. tonymiddleton

    Fantastic pastel sky Dylan – well done for being out and about with an eye on the sky.

    November 4, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  10. Cheers Tony.
    My eyes are always on the sky!

    November 4, 2008 at 9:06 pm

  11. kirkhille

    20,000 hits mate is it compotion time πŸ˜‰

    November 4, 2008 at 11:10 pm

  12. haha Kirk I dont think i have anything to give away…. cant really afford to give away a big print like fletch…. but maybe a small print…. ill have to look into it actually!

    November 4, 2008 at 11:37 pm

  13. kirkhille

    Lol I was expecting some thing like a new 5D Mark II as the prize πŸ™‚

    November 5, 2008 at 10:29 am

  14. well i did pre-order 10 of them so maybe i could spare one! πŸ˜‰

    November 5, 2008 at 10:47 am

  15. Dreamy Capture mate

    November 17, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  16. dylanfox

    Peter Lik…. is someone messing with my head?

    November 17, 2008 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

