"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

North Beach

Well I went out for a drive yesterday to check out the water conditions and find some new spots. I had a feeling last night would have some nice light and I was right! The only problem was that is was so bloody windy I could only really shoot north and use the storm clouds so i could hide behind rocks. The spraying water also continued to dirty my filters to the point i actually couldnt clean them! I managed a number of shots though.

The first I was on the north side of a rock wall so there was no wind and the second has a weak composition cause I could only shoot south from behind that same wall, and thats all i could see from there. The secon image is actually made of two different exposures one for the sky and one for the land. I also used some selective sharpening so the clouds werent affected.

5 responses

  1. The first spot has potential and looks good, your shot of it is good mate and if you return I bet you can get an even better composition without the horizon in the middle.

    The second image doesn’t really work for me I must admit, that composition doesn’t work.

    October 29, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  2. dylanfox

    mate you read my mind cause the first didnt work perfectly hence why i had fun with the water.
    the second was me rushing to get a peak at those colours! it was litteraly the only view i had, it was that bloody windy!

    I will be back there though!
    Cheers

    October 29, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  3. nice Dylan, Orange one could do with a bit more contrast though.

    October 29, 2008 at 8:48 pm

  4. dylanfox

    Cheers Fletch. Yeah it lacks contrast cause the sea spray has a very misty effect. I actually did boost up the contrast from memory but I guess it needs a little more!

    October 29, 2008 at 10:48 pm

  5. kirkhille

    I know what you mean about the wind down there I been photographing there before when its blowing a gale not the easit thing and trying to get a could composition while shaded from the wind and salt water is hard
    I like the first one great colors look

    October 30, 2008 at 9:58 pm

Leave a Reply

