"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Swept…. & Photoshop Fun

Well went to North Beach last night for a few shots. Didnt have a particular spot in mind, which seems to be the problem around Perth cause I cant plan my shoots, so kind of have to find something and find a compositin that works.

These shots were 20 secs long to get rid of the huge waves smashing the rocks, and to get that nice misty effect.

This image is slowely growing on me and it took me three attempts to get it right, having to crop for better composition each time and to get it looking a bit stronger.

Came up with some of my own little techniques for this one which worked quite well for this image.

Is anyone planning any shoots soon?

Cheers

18 responses

  1. not sure if I like the post pro on this one sorry Dylan.
    something about the water and rocks i think just doesn’t sit with me personally. not sure of anything to say as to how i think it may look better though sorry.

    it’s a very different image you’ve managed to capture though.
    that isn’t always easy to do, so well done on that.

    October 27, 2008 at 1:37 pm

  2. Well i like it a lot, but the vignetting is to obvious. the black sky is a bit much as well.

    BTW the next shoot will probably be at JFNP. This weekend would be good if you wanna get some people interested. NO MUGGERS. Ill put somethin’ on my blog later.

    October 27, 2008 at 4:17 pm

  3. jayne

    Hi Dylan,
    What do you mean about your own techniques? Do you mean photoshop or when you shot it.

    Hey Stacky,
    This weekend is the Red Bull Air Race. What about the following weekend??

    October 27, 2008 at 4:31 pm

  4. Stephen, its only different cause I was hard pressed for ideas at this spot with the conditions! 😉
    I need some new places to shoot!!!!!

    Its actually a very weak vignette Staky, check out Fletch’s last shot for a strong one!
    I dunno about this weekend… I will have to see when I can make the drive.

    Some new photoshop techniques that is Jayne. It is actually more or less combining two other basic techniques for a completely different look.

    October 27, 2008 at 5:43 pm

  5. lukeaustin

    I like the shot Dylan. I would have liked to have seen a touch of colour in the sky though. I really like the blue in the ocean contrasted with the rocks. I know the spot well, have shot it on a fair few occasions. It’s my local surf spot straight out from the rocks there. Next time let me know your heading down there.

    October 27, 2008 at 5:59 pm

  6. Good stuff Dylan, you made something pretty cool outta what was more than likely poor light or shitty light. We have to try these things so when we do happen to shoot in great light its all that much easier. I have not really done much in the way of heavy vignette ( not found the image I could do it with yet) but maybe you should try a really freakin heavy one to make the water really dark with maybe just a spotlight effect on the water coming down from the just right of center break in the clouds ….

    Just an idea for fun.

    October 27, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  7. dylanfox

    Made the light wasnt great, but I wasnt going to leave cause its once you leave that things tend to kick off!
    Yeah I did have that same idea run through my head a few times, but I just dont know the best way to do it…..
    Cheers mate

    October 27, 2008 at 11:44 pm

  8. kirkhille

    Nice photoshoping Dylan ,
    like you said you have to try new stuff with ps at times to improve your skill other wise youll never improve .
    Its hard some time to find new angles to shot in Perth unless your prepared to drive at least an hour or more out of Perth were pretty limited on areas to photograph around here .

    October 28, 2008 at 10:45 am

  9. Nice photoshop work Dylan, its something I need to look into a bit more.

    Fortunatley for me I have a free run of the Grampians here. It is not a mecca for the photographers apart from a few locations.
    So stay away all of you, its mine.

    October 28, 2008 at 11:00 am

  10. Cheers Kirk. Yeah I havent learnt to many new PS techniques lately so i started experimenting.

    Cheers Thomas. Yeah I remember stayin in the grampians as a kid and i do remember the amazing scenery!

    October 28, 2008 at 11:17 am

  11. We just booked a group tour of the Grampians Thomas, Myself, Dylan, Kirk, Mel, Jayne, Jamie, Christian, Clint, Luke and Bree, so stock up on beer and snacks we are on our way 🙂
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Just winding you up (Evil Grin)

    October 28, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  12. Man wouldn’t that be saweeeeeeeeeeet!
    I would love to go shooting around that area, cause the way I remember it, it was bloody incredible!

    October 28, 2008 at 1:58 pm

  13. dylanfox

    Would anyone be able to tell me how to have my flickr thing on the side show my images?

    October 28, 2008 at 3:03 pm

  14. Just put this code into the the flickR box on the widgets page set up.

    feed://api.flickr.com/services/feeds/photos_public.gne?id=72317701@N00&lang=en-us&format=rss_200

    Of course you could change it to your FlickR page I guess 😉

    Then send $12.50 for the tip of the day to

    Spool Photography
    Joondalup BC
    PO Box 143 Joondalup DC
    WA 6919

    Make money order out to Neal Pritchard

    Sorry no personal checks accepted ….

    October 28, 2008 at 5:35 pm

  15. dylanfox

    Still dont know how to do it… I must be slow!
    If you charge that much for blog help, how much is your photography knowledge worth mate?
    My knowledge is priceless! haha
    Christian Knowledge… about $250 actually

    October 28, 2008 at 8:34 pm

  16. Its just the rss feed you enter to the flickR widget box which you have to add to the right side bar

    October 28, 2008 at 8:54 pm

  17. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hey Dylan,

    This photo is stunning. I mean really stunning.

    Jamie Paterson

    November 5, 2008 at 11:20 am

  18. dylanfox

    Cheers Jamie!
    Just tried some thing in PS i dont usually do for this one!

    November 5, 2008 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

