"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Fremantle Monument

Heres a shot from the same day as the previous post. It’s obviously the Freo Monument… (maybe not so obvious to Flemming and Matt…). Its the first time I have shot it. Only one sequence of images is still on my memory card even though I know I took a few more than that but anyway at least one sequence didnt get wiped. This was shot around 1 or 2pm with the plans to have it converted to B&W. The majority of the image is B&W or near to it, so I guess its close to the way I visioned the final image.

Cheers

15 responses

  1. Mel

    Cool shot of something I would never of thought could look that good!!

    October 21, 2008 at 5:30 pm

  2. Thanks for pointing out what it is 😀
    Can’t say I’m a big fan of photos of statues or monuments. Your post processing looks great though and those clouds are wicked. The monument appears to be tilting to the right, in architectural shots I would suggest always straightening all lines (or use a tilt-shift lens)

    October 21, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  3. Cheers Mel.
    Flemming you are hard to please! 😉
    One day I will have an image that blows you out of the water! It will be the perfect subject, with the straightest horizon you have ever seen! haha
    Yeah I didn’t straighten the lines which I know I should have done, but I didn’t plan on using this image as it still doesn’t blow me out of the water…
    What are these tilt-shift lens’?

    October 21, 2008 at 6:18 pm

  4. Mate, there’s heaps of your photos that I love! But I always call ’em like I see them 🙂
    Tilt-shift lens, allows you to control perspective like using a view camera: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perspective_correction_lens
    Very handy for architectural work but also for landscapes as you can use it for mega DOF like Ansel Adams view camera shots where everything is in focus, even stuff that is actually behind the camera!

    October 21, 2008 at 7:04 pm

  5. Dylan its a great shot. Thats coming from my photographer side though. From my dumb old teenage side its a bit boring… y’know? Arnt you 17 anyway? hurry up and turn 20 so i can have an independent title.
    BTW was lookin’ at your site. I had no idea you were such a great photographer! Do you have a gallery or something?

    October 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm

  6. Nice work Dylan, great cloud and nice processing too.

    October 21, 2008 at 9:05 pm

  7. I think I,m going through a similar phase as you at the moment. B & W with selective colour that is. I like the composition and post editing of this shot and the subjects not to bad either. I also think the vertical straightness of this may even make it look a bit clinical and actually detract from the overall result if it was perfect, anyway this is just my take on it.

    October 21, 2008 at 9:43 pm

  8. kirkhille

    nice shot mate ,
    Had been meaning to shot this for a while like the post processing on it

    October 21, 2008 at 10:11 pm

  9. dylanfox

    Sean 20 is not important right now, still not being 18 is the worst! With a late b’day and friends that are already 18 and older December cant come soon enough!
    As for the Gallery…. you can find at 27 Dunn Bay road in Dunsborough!

    Cheers Thomas

    Cheers Peter. You make an interesting point. A point that Flemming would hate! hah

    Cheers Kirk. Yeah I had been meaning to shoot for quite some time!

    October 21, 2008 at 11:24 pm

  10. merv french

    Nice shot and processing,,,,looks almosted painted, that’s real fine art.

    October 22, 2008 at 9:34 am

  11. Cheers Merv. Thanks for the great comments

    October 22, 2008 at 11:53 am

  12. Clint Baker

    nice shot mate…. i have shot that same spot a couple of times trying to get some good clouds…. good job

    October 22, 2008 at 5:36 pm

  13. Very nice Dylan.

    October 22, 2008 at 9:04 pm

  14. Yeah i agree! how agonizing is not being 18! finally someone else knows. Do you have your p plates yet?
    Hey come to JFNP someday so i can chat photography to another teen.

    October 22, 2008 at 10:03 pm

  15. dylanfox

    Cheers Neal.

    Yeah had my license for about a year mate. I think me and some of the Perth crew should head up your way some time for a shoot.

    Cheers

    October 22, 2008 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

