"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Perth=No Good Light

Well this blog has gone cold after weeks with out shooting. The light has been awful. I went to Kings Park one afternoon earlier this week took about 7 photos and left cause there was no point in even being there!

So I decided after reading one of Peter Eastway’s tutorials in the new Better Photoshop Techniques Magazine that I would just go find a photo that I didn’t plan on using and have some PS fun!

This is what I came up with. Originally part of a larger pano I cropped it down to a 3:2 ratio mainly cause many areas of ccloud to the right were blown. This was the same morning that I took another pano that is on my site. It was literally 0 degrees but this was still the best sunrise I have ever seen.

This image after being cropped is probably about 3 or 4 images side by side coming in at a touch over 18×12 inches at 300dpi. After selling a 40×40 inch print last week that had an original size of a little over 11×11 inches at 300 dpi and seeing how sharp the final print was I know that this image wont have printing problems!

Cheers

13 responses

  1. Some people argue that like weather, there is no such thing as “bad light”. I agree with you though, as landscape photogs we definitely have days where the light is so dull, so boring and so featureless that you only shoot if you really really have to.

    On days like these I do like you – sink my teeth into PS. I like this very much but then I’m a sucker for any rural shot šŸ™‚ Your PS work is very nice on this. Only I find the crop very loose. The sky is nice but it’s the foreground that is the subject so I would crop a lot of the sky, try cropping out a lot of the sky moving the horizon up much higer and do a vignette. I reckon it creates a much tighter photo with more visual tension.

    October 10, 2008 at 3:01 pm

  2. Love the golden red tones on the grassland and against the buildings Dylan. I agree with the light issue. I have been waiting to go out to shoot and get a nice capture now for over a month. TIme to gas up the car and maybe hit the road or better still start booking some plane tkts. A mate of mine is capturing some incredible images in Northern California right now with all the fall colors.

    October 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm

  3. lukeaustin

    I hear you on the light lately Dylan. It has been driving me insane. Nothing but blue skies or muddy clouds. Gotta be due for a change…..
    Nice shot and treatment, I do agree with Flemming on the vignette though.
    We will have to go for a shoot sometime soon.

    October 10, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  4. hehe good to hear the crappy light mentioned by another photographer.
    it’s not just been Perth with the crappy light lately either. i spent a week down along the south coast a week ago. and i’ve just spent the last week getting weird looks off everyone when they ask if i got any decent shots. my answer was not really, because it was horrible light for the majority of it.
    only on 3 days did the light have anything decent in it. despite being in nearly the same locations and shooting at the same times. so it sure does exist!! and as you know it is quite frustrating when you can get the compositions right, but get no love from the light!

    i really like this shot but do have to agree on a crop of the sky.

    October 10, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  5. dylanfox

    The light here has been terrible Flemming! Although tonight looks like it might have something install….. Although I can’t go shooting as I will be drinking! haha

    You are definetely right about the vignette. I was going to add one but with the already dark boarders on the land I thought it might be a bit over done! You know how you can get stuck into PS, think you have done something sweet and look at it a couple hours later and just laugh at yourself!
    You are most probably right about the crop but just because of the sunrise I witnessed I think I will have to leave it as is….. sorry….. haha
    I will probably have a vignette if it makes it to my site…. which it probably will just cause I think its cool! šŸ˜‰ haha

    Neal the land was originally way way redder but brought everything back to a nicer gold.
    Has your lucky bastard of a friend in Cali got a link?…

    I have a location that is far from impressive that I am waiting to shoot but like you said Luke, these skys aren’t doin it for me!

    We will definitely have to organise a shoot

    October 10, 2008 at 6:30 pm

  6. dylanfox

    Yeah Stephen Hopefully Perth is due for a month of crazy good light!

    No one else seems to like the sky in this shot either, but I feel the big bright cloud to the right helps balance the image.

    October 10, 2008 at 6:32 pm

  7. Drinking instead of shooting? Get your priorities straight man! and go on, crop that sky, you now it’ll look much better mate šŸ˜€

    October 10, 2008 at 9:23 pm

  8. kirkhille

    Yeah The light has sucked the last month . I been going through old shots and seeing what i can get out of them now my PS skill have improved a bit .
    Nice shot by the way , like the warm feel this shot has

    October 12, 2008 at 12:26 am

  9. I love it Dylan, your not bad at this photography thing are you!

    October 12, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  10. Flemming sometime a ice cold Jim Beam is nicer than the light around here!

    Cheers Kirk. We will have to meet up for a shoot sometime.

    Cheers Christian. Although that Mark Temov often tells me otherwise! šŸ˜‰

    October 12, 2008 at 7:39 pm

  11. Whatevers bad in Perth is ten times crapper up here. Nice shot!

    October 12, 2008 at 11:25 pm

  12. Mark Temov

    Dylan that is the most amazing shot you have ever produced. You are an amazing photographer and all round great bloke. That fletch bloke has nothing on you. You’re the best!

    October 14, 2008 at 2:15 pm

  13. T-Banga you are spot on for once!
    Am I the best?…. Yes probably! If you mean Christian Fletcher… yeah I have heard of the guy but I think he is just one of them market sellers…. šŸ˜‰

    October 14, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

