"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

ON TOP!

So I am about 3 hours from Denver in the Rockies, above tree line, in the coldest wind, wearing jeans, shoes and a shirt. Yes I was absolutely numb, but i think because I was some where so incredible that I didnt feel cold….. I was out on the edge of a huge cliff face taking this shot with a few other phtographers around. (one guy was using one of them box camera things with the whole blanket thing…) when I needed to run about 50 meters back to the car to grab something! So my cousin said tell me how you feel if you can even run as far as the car! Sure enough after running with that little oxygen I felt like I was gonna faint!

There were also a lot of Elk (I think they were) around just hangin out in the parking lot with everybody!

So heres a shot as the I watched the sunset to the right in the freezing cold wind!

9 responses

  1. Loving the clouds and colors Dylan … Word of advice for next time. THERMALS πŸ™‚

    September 16, 2008 at 10:25 am

  2. your right Neal!
    Once I stopped taking pics and actually sat back down in the car I realised how god damn cold I really was!

    September 16, 2008 at 11:56 pm

  3. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate ,
    Must have been damm cold up there

    September 16, 2008 at 11:59 pm

  4. You better believe it Kirk! The intense wind wasnt helping either!
    I was hiding behid some boulders on this massive slope face while I took this shot!

    September 17, 2008 at 12:02 am

  5. lukeaustin

    Great shot mate. Looks like it was worth it. It must be phenomenal shooting scenes like this. I don’t think I would know where to start. I will get there one day.

    September 17, 2008 at 10:03 pm

  6. dylanfox

    Cheers Luke!
    It really was amazing sitting and watching as the last rays of light hit the mountain peaks!
    When you do get there, make sure you spend as much time as possible outside shooting! There are still a lot of things I will be shooting again when I get back. Definetely going back Pine Valley! There a lot of things in the are that I wanted to shoot that day bu I got rained out! 😦
    A lot of cool old sheds etc.

    September 17, 2008 at 10:46 pm

  7. Very nice shot, lovely scene! I would suggest trying to crop the empty bottom 1/3 to heighten visual tension.

    “Box camera thing with a blanket”…hehehehe nice description of what was probably a 10×8 view camera πŸ˜€

    September 24, 2008 at 6:54 am

  8. dylanfox

    Hahaha yeah! Just and ignorent digital kid!
    Would lvoe to try some B&W film some time though!

    September 24, 2008 at 2:42 pm

  9. Enjoy: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/View_camera

    πŸ˜€

    No other camera I can think of offers the control and quality you get with a view camera if you’re prepared to learn it and carry around 50 kilos of gear! I’ll stick with the 5D Mk II though πŸ˜€

    September 24, 2008 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

