"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Ludington Lighthouse

I did process this shot while I was in the states, but ended up going back and re-stitching it yesterday and started fresh. I am much happier with it now, so it was worth starting from scratch for a second time.

This is the first lighthouse I shot on Lake Michigan, in the town closest to my families cottage. It was packed with walkers and a photography group but I managed a fews shots. The walk out the concrete jetty type thing had markings on it to show you the distance I think it was close to a half mile?…

Heres a shot of me that arvo (was still using that shitty old tripod). You can see further in front of me a bloke who was part of the camera group, and was right on the wall edge that was being smashed by waves. Sure enough he and his camera got soaked!

I have a shot from where I am standing in this shot and will post later, the only problem with it is the banding I got.

6 responses

  1. lukeaustin

    Nice shot Dylan. I like the colours, they aren’t to saturated which works really well. the moon adds a nice touch as well.

    September 8, 2008 at 5:51 pm

  2. kirkhille

    great shot mate love light house shots .
    Like the POV as well , nice use of lead in lines . looks like a great location to shot

    September 8, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  3. Cheers Luke. I did actually pick up some weird colours in this shot. This was the last shot of the day so I got the nice purples.

    Cheers Kirk. yeah this light house would be great to re visit again one day. Hopefully next year! Would also work at sunrise.

    September 8, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  4. Very nice Dylan, I like the colours you have captured here. Man with a US Passport I’d be back there for a 12 month photographic journey already 😉

    September 9, 2008 at 5:59 pm

  5. Cheers Neal,
    I was unsure whether to post this one or not cause I wasn’t sure what ya’ll would think of it but the responses so far have been really nice!

    Yeah I am very thankful to have dual citizenship. It makes it so easy! I will be back there for 12 months or so when me and me best mate turn 21. Will hopefully be back a few times before then though!

    September 9, 2008 at 6:14 pm

  6. Great shot Dylan.. love the colour in the foreground leading into the dark sky in the top left. Well done. Nice composition as well.

    September 16, 2008 at 6:07 am

Leave a Reply

