"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Brooklyn Bridge

Purchase this photograph at http://dylanfox.com.au/shop/brooklyn-bridge/

Heres a shot from my first night in New York. After a long day of sight seeing we heade over to Brooklyn to get a view of Brooklyn Bridge with Manhattan as a back drop. There was a lot of people at htis spot and a lot of photographers. I found my own spot away from the crowd and ended up having to deal with huge rats running around me and some which actually ran on my feet. This shot might work in B&W as well……

Heres some other snaps. The first is me taking this photo and the second is written on it.

I went out for a morning shoot yesterday and made a trip up to Noble falls so might have some more posts from local spots soon.

Happy Shooting!

11 responses

  1. amazing city hey? I never got there. Great image Dylan. Looks like you were the only person out that night.

    August 26, 2008 at 8:30 pm

  2. Gorgeous cityscape. That’s just about perfect mate. May be a slight stitch error far right but you can fix that. Love to look at this shot!

    August 26, 2008 at 9:19 pm

  3. dylanfox

    Christian I had to go out onto some rocks with the rats away from the crowd on solid concrete land! hah

    Flemming I think your right, I did spot just before I posted it.

    It really is an amazing city. It is so easy to learn your way around Manhattan with the simple grid street design and all even numbered streets running east and odds go west. Easier than Perth where everything in the city seems to take ya in circles!
    All they need to adopt is the round about and get rid of the stupid four way stops!

    August 26, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  4. Great image Dylan, fantastic City as well, easily my favorite US city. I am not done yet with that city having only been there twice once in 1997 and again last year I can see myself going back, even if it is just for the food in “Little Italy”.
    I remember going to ground zero last year and the firehouse across the road. I came away with a new perspective seeing it close up.

    August 27, 2008 at 8:55 am

  5. Your right Neal. The food in Little Italy was awesome. Got some pretty damn good food in China Town too. While I was eating in Little Italy I was pretty busy setting up the new tripod though! haha.
    I also love Chicago! Theres a lot of great city’s over there and there all so different. On the flight back to South Bend from NY that days paper had a article on top 10 cities to visit in US and Canada. The first three were New York, San Fran, and Chicago. Still yet to leave SF’s airport! haha

    August 27, 2008 at 9:36 am

  6. kirkhille

    Great Capture mate , Love the composition . Looks like a huge bridge , I couldnt get over the size of the Sydney Harbour Bridge so Im guessing this bridge would be even bigger .
    Deffinatly got to go here next year on the trip to the states .

    August 27, 2008 at 10:36 am

  7. Anne-Marie McCarthy

    Fantastic photo Dylan. I particularly love the ethereal quality of the reflections in the water. Well done.

    August 27, 2008 at 4:39 pm

  8. Great shot Dylan. Your trip to the states look like a total success and you snapped some great shots and locations. Look forward to seeing more. I bet you got gigs worth of images to go through. Some late nights ahead for you.

    August 28, 2008 at 7:00 am

  9. mate I got a lot of stuff still to go through! And the thing is since I keep going out and shooting back here it just keeps building.
    I went down to SOuth Perth last night (without my caera) and the river looked like glass! The city reflections off the water were so sharp and brighter than the buildings! I am so annoyed that I didnt get a photo!

    August 28, 2008 at 8:53 am

  10. Nice work Dylan. We may have been standing in the same spot.
    Best,
    Louis

    August 28, 2008 at 9:06 am

  11. Clint Baker

    Great shot dylan…… did u notice how much the bridge moves when u drive over it??
    again bloody amazing shot mate….
    Anyone keen for a shoot Sunday morning?

    August 28, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Leave a Reply

