"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Twin Jettys

A big storm rolled through yesterday afternoon and left about 30 minutes later. I was ready to go out and shoot once it cleared since after the last storm there was also a great sunset which got me the first jetty shot.

The light was awesome and lasted a long time but it was just finding something different to shoot and keeping the filters clear that was tricky. I walked up and down the lake and on my way in I passed these two identical jetties. I had to stand right at the waters edge because there was a for sale sign right between them. I had to get a photo just because i knew it wouldn’t be a typical jetty shot. I added a warming filter to get rid of the dark blues.

I have been ‘exposing to the right’ after finding that link on Matt’s blog which works really well.

Will probably have more shots from last night to come and am about to go on a hike, so hopefully I will find some interesting spots!

And a big thanks to Flemming for that stitching tutorial cause my stitches are looking a lot better!!! If you haven’t read his tutorial head straight to his blog after telling me how great I am first! ha

Happy Shooting!

7 responses

  1. Thanks Dylan, glad my tutorial was useful! Nice sky and colours in your shot, I can’t quite make up my mind about the composition. Symmetrical is hard to make work.

    August 8, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Yeah your tutorial is great!
    To be honest when I was taking this shot I didn’t expect to even put in on the blog. I need that viewfinder!!!!!

    August 8, 2008 at 2:37 pm

  3. real nice colours and the water looks fantastic.
    i quite like the jettys directing the eye right to the center of the shot. no matter where you look, it ends up there!

    August 8, 2008 at 5:20 pm

  4. Really nice shot Dylan,
    Great colours and composition.
    Pity about the slight bow in the jetty probably due to the wide lens, I have had a few issues like that myself.

    Good Work.

    August 8, 2008 at 8:00 pm

  5. Cheers Stephen! I feel like this photo wouldn’t have remotely worked if that big cloud wasn’t in that spot. Put in the middle and the photo would look very strange!

    Cheers Thomas. Yeah I was zoomed out to 18mm. Luckily it’s not a very wide lens though so it isn’t as bad as it could have been!

    August 9, 2008 at 1:30 am

  6. tonymiddleton

    Hi Dylan,
    I think the twin jetties work as a composition in itself – nice hues and great sky ! I find the tree branch on the left hand side of frame slightly distracting..But all up nice work though.

    🙂

    August 13, 2008 at 5:04 am

  7. dylanfox

    Cheers Tony.
    Yeah that tree was unavoidable. Like i said it was tuff to even stand here to shoot cause of the for sale sign. ahwell

    August 13, 2008 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

