"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Drift Wood

I took this photo this afternoon across the lake at my Cousins place.

They have all these cool tree stumps in the water right off their shore. There not so cool if you hit one with your boat! This one caught my eye because it was seperated from the rest and had a interesting shape. I was knee deep in water when I took this shot, with the odd boat wake coming through. This was like 5 or 6 photos with the grads and ND, which left a colour cast and a gradient in the water and didn’t leave the photo looking the way I had pictured it. So after trying to get the colours right I tried B&W and was hapy with the result.

There were some nice fish hanging around here which I later caught standing right on the jetty!

Happy Shooting!

7 responses

  1. Well spotted Dylan, but sure thats not a dead moose or elk in the lake 🙂 ?

    August 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm

  2. jamiepatersonphotography

    That what I was thinking. I like the treatment you’ve given it Dylan.

    August 6, 2008 at 6:19 pm

  3. Anne-Marie McCarthy

    A very striking photo Dylan, I like the effect alot. Be careful not to get hurt by the concealed logs. 😉

    August 6, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  4. Cheers Neal! There was a foul odour coming from it! haha
    Thanks Jamie
    Thanks Anne-Marie, I am pretty happy with it. Yeah there are logs sitting just bellow the surface every where that will wreck ya boat if your not careful!

    August 6, 2008 at 11:41 pm

  5. kirkhille

    lol yeah kinds looks like a dead moosse in there 🙂
    Nice shot by the way well spotted

    August 6, 2008 at 11:59 pm

  6. Cheers Kirk,
    It was tuff to get close enough to it cause the water was getting pretty deep. I think this would look pretty good once printed nice ad big!

    August 7, 2008 at 12:05 am

  7. yep a moose!!

    August 7, 2008 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

