"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Rockie Mountain National Park

Heres a shot of some melt water running over a broken fallen tree in Rockie Mountain National park. This shot was taken just below tree line so it was freezing and I was only in a shirt and jeans! This spot was pretty tough to get to cause of the fallen trees, the ice, the snow and the simply steep hill. I also had the thought of bears in the back of my head!

These mountains are truly amazing! I could spend years exploring these mountains taking photos. If you ever come to Denver take about a 3 hour drive along the mountains to Rockie Mountain National Park. It’s well worth the time!

Happy Shooting!

8 responses

  1. Nice idea Dylan.
    I feel the really bright snow takes the interest away from the falls a bit too much. Looks a lil over-exposed, especially towards the corner. I know it’s not an easy thing to expose for though!! Really like the texture in the timber where the water flows over though. 🙂

    July 31, 2008 at 2:40 pm

  2. Nice natural shot mate, good detail.
    The snow is starting to look a little dirty.

    Keep up the good work.

    July 31, 2008 at 6:49 pm

  3. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate ,
    Really like the POV ,
    I found the snow a little too bright but eyes keeped moving towards it and away from the water fall ,

    July 31, 2008 at 11:59 pm

  4. Cheers guys.
    Yeah the snow was tough, it has already got a multiply layer at %100 over it…. I dunno, i might try to look at as a balance in the photo…. haha
    I’ll be interested to hear what Flemming says….
    Haven’t seen Christian on this blog for a while…. “Fletch are you out there”

    August 1, 2008 at 12:20 am

  5. Anne-Marie McCarthy

    Love the photo Dylan, especially the autumnal colours of the branch going across the top and at the base of the waterfall. (even though I’m not sure what season you have there ;).

    August 1, 2008 at 4:57 pm

  6. Thanks Anne-Marie!
    It was a pretty cool little waterfall thing I stumbled across!
    I got a vertical pan of it so I will see if thats any better, but I wont put my money on it just yet! haha

    August 2, 2008 at 1:03 pm

  7. How many images made up this pearler of a shot Dylan. Love the composition.

    August 7, 2008 at 9:11 pm

  8. This one was cropped down a bit from like 5 images… I think.
    Thanks Mate

    August 8, 2008 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

