"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Pine Valley

Well I just got back from a big weekend in Chicago and Indianapolis. Went to a Cubs game on Friday and then went out Friday night with my cousin and some of his friends that night. A few of us then drove to Indianapolis for a Dave Matthews Band concert that night, which was awesome but me and my cousin can’t remember a single song that was played!!! If you have never listened to Dave Matthews (regardless of your favourite music genre) you are missing out!

So heres a pic that I took back in Colorado in one of the most amazing little towns I have ever seen in my life! This valley runs through the mountains and is just full of photo ops! This little spot was pretty tough to get down into but it was worth it

Happy Shooting!

17 responses

  1. clintbaker85

    great shot mate, love the look of it. the rocks look so raw its great

    July 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm

  2. Cheers Clint,
    This location was amazing!! I can’t wait to get back here some day cause there is some many things to shoot!

    July 28, 2008 at 1:31 pm

  3. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate ,
    Like the composition very simple

    July 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  4. The rocks have a great structure and look terrific. Contrary to most people I find waterfalls boring subjects but that’s just me.

    July 28, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  5. Damien

    This for me is one of your best images, I love it!!!

    July 28, 2008 at 8:08 pm

  6. Thanks Kirk, I was standing under a fuckin huge boulder when I took this shot to get away from the light rain. Thats what was so interesting about this spot, there were boulders that had a diameter of at least 20m, and they were lying over the top of the creek! Cool stuff!

    Thanks Flem, at least I can get a good rap from you for a type of scenery you dont particularly enjoy! haha. I love areas like this, but I think I love it all. I love sweeping fields, beaches, forests, waterfalls, you name it.

    Cheers Damien I am really happy with this shot. I took a vertical composition from the spot which I will post soon, but I think I prefer this one.

    Cheers

    July 29, 2008 at 1:51 am

  7. Very nice shot Dylan …. These boulder one may wonder how they came to be there. They came to be there from the last Ice Age when super large ice sheets dragged and dumped huge granite boulders throughout valley and mountain regions. All those massive ( some the size of a city block) one sees n Yosemite just lying in a meadow or river have been deposited the same way. It is one of the reasons North America ( which includes Canada) have such amazing scenery and has the most diverse and stunning landscape on the planet. From crystal clear rivers, towering mountains, massive and diverse canyons, temperate rain forests, dry as a bone deserts, flat open plains with huge skies and some of the most stunning coastline ( Big Sur to Alaska), a photographers wet dream ๐Ÿ™‚

    July 29, 2008 at 9:29 am

  8. Thanks Neal,
    That is a great bit of info to know! You would think a A grade geography student would know that, but I guess our stuff was based more around Australia.

    America is certainly full of amazing places! I can’t wait to come here one year and travel exclusively throughout the country for photography! Maybe us Perth boys could organise a world wide road trip! that would be awesome!
    I think when I do something like that I will want to have some real nice gear so I can get perfect quality.

    July 29, 2008 at 9:59 am

  9. Always been a dream of mine to set up a trip just for photography of the US. Maybe one day if all works out well I can manage to travel for a extended period of time. I have travelled there some 8 times but only really started taken the photography seriously in the last couple of trips. Before that I shot with a Pentax Z70 and have some nice images of Yosemite, Vancouver, Seattle and Portland area and the Grand Canyon from 1993, a couple of which are printed in my home on the walls but nothing I would really put into a portfolio these days, but still special to me for the experience at the time.

    If I had a scanner I could scan a few negs I guess, there are a few from the Grand Canyon sunset that are really quite nice.

    July 29, 2008 at 10:19 am

  10. Yeah I have been out here the last four years in a row and many times before that. I actually lived in Denver for about 2 years when I was young. I have only been taking serious images out here this year, and the last year was I guess what I would call serious but nothing like what I am doing now.

    I think even if a bunch of us planned a week long photography trip around the south west that would be pretty sweet!

    By the way are my eagles still shit house?

    July 29, 2008 at 1:03 pm

  11. First up Dylan Football season starts n September and the eagles don’t look good this year. I have no idea about the other eagles, don’t buy papers or watch 7 9 or 10.

    But I am up for a trip(s) South ….

    July 29, 2008 at 1:22 pm

  12. Footnote : I am looking towards going back next year to photograph the Canyons ๐Ÿ™‚

    July 29, 2008 at 1:32 pm

  13. I dont folow the football over here. I think of it as a weak version of rugby and I dont even folow rugby.

    I would love to go back to arizona to shoot in the canyons.

    I think we should really plan a trip down south and plan to shoot some awesome locations

    Ny the way I ordered the lowepro comutrecker plus thingo.
    It will be here on thursday. It will make things so much easier!

    July 29, 2008 at 1:36 pm

  14. When are you due back? August I am away for a week shooting the central NSW coast and then I am free and would like to shoot the wildflower season as much as possible so a few trips south, east and maybe even north to Lancelin as well. Going to be a busy 4-8 weeks.

    July 29, 2008 at 1:43 pm

  15. im back like the 23rd of august

    i really wanna shoot lancelin and some wild flowers would be awesome! im pretty much always free for a trip

    July 29, 2008 at 1:50 pm

  16. Yeah great shot Dylan
    the boulders provide provide a nice interest.
    nice composition with the water flowing through the pic.

    July 29, 2008 at 2:35 pm

  17. Thanks Stephen! I loved this spot! It was so peaceful scattered with interesting houses…. which reminds me I should post a shot of some of the houses in this valley! They probably wont be to flash but they might just show how some people were living.

    July 30, 2008 at 12:48 am

Leave a Reply

