"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

The Storm!

Well that title might be a bit over the top, considering it rained for like an hour and the sky was blue for almost the rest of the day!

I saw the clouds and thought, “well its mid-day….. these clouds are pretty hot…. a nice simple B&W should work!” I think it worked nicely, but god damn was it hard to get right! Because of my useless tripod, and the lack of detail for PTGui, it was yet another tricky stitch! It took a hour or two just to get it stitche nicely. It also meant going back outside a couple times to try the shot again! In the end I got it and this is what I pictured prior to the stitching mayhem.

Happy Shooting!

7 responses

  1. Good choice to do it in BW, works well with dramatic clouds. Shots like these can be so hard to stitch since they’re so wide and you only have the horizon to go on when stitching.

    July 23, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  2. kirkhille

    nice shot mate ,
    Suits Balck and white the clouds look great really dramatic

    July 23, 2008 at 3:09 pm

  3. Cheers Flem. Yeah i instantly thought B&W when I saw these clouds. ( and cause it was the middle of the day! (thanks to your blog)).
    I have actually been doing a fair bit of B&W, maybe because I have only recently started looking at Ansel Adams work….
    Yeah these shots are a bitch to stitch.

    Cheers Kirk, yeah I love these clouds too. Unfortunatly there are no clouds around today and I am going to the dunes, so I might try some shots that dont need the sky. Something abstract with the sand patterns…. I dunno.

    July 24, 2008 at 1:28 am

  4. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    Interestingly enough I did my last fashion shoot in B&W and I was looking through the Paris Vogue last night and heaps of their stuff was in B&W. Someone explained to me why is was so popular the other day.

    In B&W there is no colour to distract from the emotions a person is displaying. In other words as there is no colour instantly we start looking for ‘a feeling’ or an emotion instead. I thought it was a good way of summing it up.

    July 24, 2008 at 10:23 am

  5. Yeah Jamie that’s why BW is so powerful for portraits as well, no colour to distract from expression, line, emotion etc.

    Same goes for landscape really, but most of us landscape photogs are triggered by the colour of the golden hour and you need different light, stronger composition, leading lines etc. to work in BW.

    July 24, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  6. Nicely stitched Dylan, really looks powerful in black and white. The land in the distance is a nice dark divider between the lake and the sky.

    July 24, 2008 at 3:37 pm

  7. dylanfox

    Thats really interesting Jamie. I did most my wedding shots in B&W, but I mainly did it for the timeless effect, but the magazine makes very good & interesting point.

    Thanks Ben, I am happy with this shot mainly because it turned out exactly as I visioned it while I was taking it, which is something that happens most times and it seems when things dont turn out as i pictured, they either turn out amazing accidentally, or there simply shit. haha

    Cheers

    July 24, 2008 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

