"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Back To Hamlin Lake!

Well it’s Monday afternoon here and I am already back at the Lake. The cousins and I decided to come back up and get some more things in like (like photography & more tubing) that we couldn’t because of the 30 odd family members that were here last week! I have a light house that I will be checking out and I will have to make it to the dunes this time around.

I thought I would get this shot up that I took last Thursday up here. I actually drove the ATV just down the road to this spot before getting eaten alive by mozies! So I packed up my gear as I ran around trying to escape the mozies and quickly got back to the cottage to put some jeans on and a jumper and a shit load of bug spray, and then headed straight back to the same spot. It seems these killer mozies weren’t extremely concerned about the spray. I was able to get this shot. Whilst I was setting up for it over the puddle, I dropped my shutter release cable to hang from the camera like I always do, only to watch it continue to fall into the puddle, somehow detatching from my camera. I quickly grabbed it out of the water and swung the shutter around from the cable and tried to blow the water out. (I would also like to say this is the first time the cable had ever fallen off the camera.) I connected it back to the camera, but now instead of having to half push to focus and then a full push for shutter lock and then another full push to take the shot…. It now takes the lightest of touches to quickly focus and lock the shutter instantly and then another fairy touch to take the shot. Hopefully this is not permanent!

Anyway…. heres the shot,

11 responses

  1. Awesome reflection Dylan. Those mozzies are killer over there. I seem to attract every mozzie in a 2 mile radius when I am out and last time at Mirror Lake @ Yosemite I thought they would actually eat me alive they where so big.

    Great image and wouldn’t you know it I just this minute posted a pic on my blog and it almost has the same boarder as this one.

    July 22, 2008 at 2:43 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Thanks Neal.
    Yeah the mozzies are big, vicious and desperate for some Aussie blood! I was actually running round while I was packing up just to avoid the bastards and then jumped on the ATV and took off!

    As far as the boarder….. Great Minds Think Alike!

    July 22, 2008 at 2:49 pm

  3. kirkhille

    nice shot mate ,
    Like the forresty feel to this image.
    Last time i got eaten by mozzies was down at Dunsbrough at Castle rock early one morning

    July 22, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  4. Yeah this was a well planned attack by the mozzie gang! But I came back with chemicals!

    July 22, 2008 at 2:56 pm

  5. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hey Dylan,

    Love the image I was just looking at Peter Eastway’s DVD and one of his tricks was to make the edge of the road a litle darker to help define the road.

    Jamie Paterson

    July 22, 2008 at 8:06 pm

  6. Cheers Jamie,
    Yeah thats something I quite often do. I have done it for my Mount Macedon Foggy Trail shot and also on one of my Crawely Edge Boat House Shots. I don’t know why I didn’t do it om this one…..
    I would love to see that DVD, sounds like it has some great tips!
    Cheers

    July 23, 2008 at 12:09 am

  7. jamiepatersonphotography

    It certainly does. I’ve learnt stacks of it so far.

    July 23, 2008 at 8:37 am

  8. So are you into the stitching game yet Jamie? Imagine the res you could get in a stitch from the mkIII!!!!!!!!! WOWWWWW!

    July 23, 2008 at 8:44 am

  9. beaumitchell

    I’ve always liked these kind of shots – road through the forest – and this one is no exception… Shame about your shutter release cable. I dropped mine in the water at Cott one time but it kept on working :p

    July 23, 2008 at 12:58 pm

  10. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan

    I stopped stiching for a very short period as it was getting annoying spending stacks of time stiching, but I’m now right back into it, mainly because as you said Dylan I can cover a whole area and then have so much resolution that I can just either use the whole thing or cut parts that I want and still have stacks of detail.

    I must admit I was getting very frustrated with my photos over the past six weeks, but hanging out with Neal and Kirk who are producing amazing images has really helped to re-inspire me and has caused me to really pick up my standards and go hard.

    The past three weeks has been so much fun and I’m seeing the quality of my work pick right up again.

    So thanks to Neal and Kirk for re-inspiring me. I also love your attitude as well Dylan, it amazes me that someone so young is so ‘photographically mature’ and you’re images drive me as well.

    Jamie Paterson

    July 24, 2008 at 10:18 am

  11. Jamie mate could you imagine even like a 10 image stitch with the mk3!!!!!

    Jamie I think that photography is like a sport. You have your good days and bad days, and most the time your bad days are because there is simply shitty light, bad location or it’s spot you will simply need to revisit.

    Neal and Kirk are great photographers, and theres a lot to learn from them.
    I appreciate it mate, I simply love photography and love learngin new things. I feel blessed to have found photography so early in my life.

    We will have to catch up when I get back!

    Cheers

    July 24, 2008 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

