"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Are You Talkin To Me?

Went up into the mountains today to go shooting (with guns not cameras).  It was my first time even holding a gun so it was a lot of fun for me! First on the way there we had to pick up ammo, and of course wal-mart is the place for bullets! Heres a few shots…

I don’t know the exact names but this was one of the 22’s my Uncle has, and was my favourite gun even though it was the least powerful. We picked up a box of 550 bullets for this gun for $11 at Wal-mart! I must have fired at least 250 shots out of this one.

This is my cousins gun. I am told is basically an AK….

My cousin that lives with me in Perth slapped one of the most powerful hand guns around into my hand. It’s the 44 Magnum, and god damn does this thing have some power! The recoil on this thing is insane! It’s basically like holding a shot gun in your hands.

Heres the 12 gauge Shotgun. This thing is unbelievable! If your not standing strong it will throw you off your feet!

This is the last gun I used. It’s the 8mm Mauser. This thing is amazing! My Uncle shot the a tree trunk near the top from about 100m away and it knocked the top of the tree right off!

We were just shooting cans and old books all day. I saved a couple of the books as souveneirs that have been ripped to shreds!

On a photography note, I see the most amazing valley today! Didn’t shoot it today cause we were all tired, but I will be back there soon cause it is truly unbelievable!

Happy Shooting! (what ever kind that may be)

13 responses

  1. Hey Dylan “Hicks” is that an Al-Qaeda training camp, nice story mate albeit a little twisted, gees, how easy is it to blow something away over there. Nice guns BTW.

    June 24, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  2. It does look like a terrorist training camp, especially with the AK.

    June 24, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  3. jamiepatersonphotography

    Mmm I don’t like guns.

    June 24, 2008 at 9:49 pm

  4. Yeah my cousin took us to this spot which is basically just a huge dirt wall!
    Where we were was safe considering what we were doing. But as we were leaving the little dirt track on the way out was on top of a little hill that some other people were shooting into! That was a little scary.

    I’m not gun fanatic but going shooting out in the mountains is a lot of fun!

    Yeah Christian it is way to easy to pick up a decent gun a shit load of bullets! The gun section in wal-mart was the isle next to the kids bikes and sporting equipment! As much as I think this country needs to ban guns, everyone here believes its their right, so I don’t see the laws changing anytime soon!

    June 25, 2008 at 12:29 am

  5. merv french

    What is it with Yanks and guns!!!!!!
    I remember seeing a big sign outside a shop “We Sell Beer And Guns” kinda wierd stuff.

    The greatest nation on earth….. HMMMMMM…..

    June 25, 2008 at 7:54 am

  6. I agree that the gun issue here is crazy but being half american I guess I’m half crazy! Ah well I had a lot of fun!

    June 25, 2008 at 7:58 am

  7. Cool you got to shoot some guns, I did that once a very long time ago in LA with friends. I wont get involved in the guns or no guns debate as I can see both sides. I once spend a considerable time talking to an 80+ year old man in the deep south of Texas over a meal and a beer where his pro gun reasoning did make me think, we sometimes do not see the other side when blinded by our vision.

    On a side note, there was a fully loaded baretta hand gun found on Joondalup drive last week by a passer by …. the lucky country HMMMMMM …

    June 25, 2008 at 9:56 am

  8. dylanfox

    Your right Neal! And I was waiting to hear what you thought about this topic. The more you speak to the GOOD people in this country you will understand that you can make guns illegal and that will take guns away from the GOOD people but the BAD people will always have them or at least access to them! I mean have heard of plenty of stories of guns in the wrong hands in Australia.

    People over here believe it is there right to have a gun. All my uncles guns are locked away and his ammo is in the shed! So it’s not like people are walking the streets with guns just because they have them! (although some people are)

    But all in all I still say a gun ban is a good thing because the good people wont have them and if they did want them they could get a license or something and it will lower the number of bad people with guns on the streets. I’m all for going out in the mountains to go hunting or just shooting, as long as it is all controlled.

    Oh and yes, this is a photography blog! haha

    June 25, 2008 at 11:23 am

  9. clintbaker85

    sorry i thought i was on a gun blog hahahahahah…… i just loved it when i walking into wal-mart and there was guns ahahahhahah, its like goin to K-mart here and next to the kids section there is a shotgun ahahahahah

    June 25, 2008 at 12:58 pm

  10. jamiepatersonphotography

    I used to fire guns when I was in the Navy, F1 sub machine guns, AR’s (fully automatic SLR), SLR’s and 9mm Browning pistol. At sea we used to have gun BBQ’s, we used to have to use a certain amount of ammo each year so we’d save it all up and go crazy twice a year while at sea.

    I will admit that was heaps and heaps of fun and I did look forward to it, but I just don’t see any use for them in civilian society.

    Any way enough from me. When are we going to see some more awesome pics Dylan? 🙂

    June 25, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  11. hiiii dylan

    I went to visit Temov the other day & he showed me your website,
    quite impressive…

    well well well you may have won the school award but i won the state award muahahaha

    anyway your site is quite pretty
    u shud put stuff on deviantart
    all the best

    Cathy

    June 25, 2008 at 11:32 pm

  12. dylanfox

    Clint that is exactly how it is. One minute your kid is looking and asking for a basketball but then you go to the next isle and he wan ts a gun and 1000 bullets!

    Jamie there wont be any shots till I’m back and I stil dont know exactly when that will be. I still dont have PS for a mac.

    Hey Cathy, good to hear from ya! Na I’m happy with my Website and the blogs are the best. The blogs have introduced me and made good mates with some amazing photographers! And I think you would remember Christian Fletcher from our year 12 portfolios!

    Yeah I think the judges were looking for more studio work in my portfolio. All my good stuff (which all look very very average now) were either landscapes or still life. Ah well… I’ll go check out your page.

    June 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

  13. jamiepatersonphotography

    Yeah,

    I agree with you Dylan this has been a great commmunity and I’ve certainly met some fantastic people on here.

    Jamie Paterson

    June 26, 2008 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

