"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Back to Cott!

I just had to post this image. This is straight out of the camera but has even lost colour and detail when uploaded. It’s part of the red cott photo I have but when I was looking back through them I realised I had not done this sunset justice! So this one is definitely on my list to re-work when get home!

I have been doing a bit of shooting so far up in the mountains, which are only about 10 mins from where I am! I have been to a place called Red Rocks, which I might have to revisit since I found it very hard to shoot and getting any good light can be hard with the rockies blocking out a lot of the light.

I have also finally got to shoot some nice streams and waterfalls up there. I think the river is called Bear river… My cousin and I walked along it and shot it for a few hours yesterday morning untill the sun peaked over the cliffs and made for very uneven light, so I will be back there again. We also came across a dirty motor bike helmet and thought “alright…. now wheres the body and bike” considering the road was just up a 3 or 4m cliff face! I have been trying a lot of abstract type images along that river with very simple compositions. My Uncle gets a lot of catalouges for a local computer store that is stupid cheap. I am going to pick up a 320G Western Digital external drive for $110! They also have 1T drives for under $200!!! I could easy go there and blow a whole bunch of money!

Happy Shooting!

9 responses

  1. kirkhille

    I oftern go back and reedit early shots I took , Its amazing the difference in them now my PS skills have improved .
    Cant wait to see this reedit looks like it was amazing sunset .
    Shoting much over there ?
    Went out this afternoon to Mosman bay with Jamie , neal and clint but the light wasnt great , might post something later tonight

    June 22, 2008 at 12:51 am

  2. Yeah there are some great locations over here!

    Yeah that sunset was off the chain mate! I have seen on your blog that you guys were organising a shoot there. Pitty about the light!

    I think might be able to get CS3 for my mac (don’t wanna jinx it) pretty soon. It just would be a lot easy to go through my shots as I take them rather than having thousands to go through when I get home!

    Cheers

    June 22, 2008 at 12:58 am

  3. Cant wait to see the shots Dylan.
    I’ll have to pick up a 1TB external HD soon, it’s worth it as they are so cheap, I remember my first Pentium 486 with its 3gb HD and 32mb RAM. A lot changes in 13 years.

    Hope you enjoy processing images.

    Cheers Tom

    June 22, 2008 at 8:26 am

  4. Yeah man it’s ‘unfair’ cheap compared to australia!

    Theres gonna be a lot of photos to go through when I get home! Just went for like a 3 hour treck in the mountains today along a single plank wooden bridge that is at least 100 years old, with no side rails and a 20 m drop! Didn’t take the camera but will be back there soon!

    June 22, 2008 at 8:59 am

  5. Dad

    Hi Buddy – good to see you having a good time. I thought I’s let you know that my website was hacked yesterday. Not sure how it happened but someone managed to insert code into my HTML files which redirects people to an Argentinian website. Apparently this foreign website then attempts to do nasty things to your computer. Fortunately my McAfee software detected the attempted redirect and prevented it from happening. I’ve since done a search and it seems this is a well known hack. It also appears that the mode of entry is via databases associated with installed applications such as WORDPRESS! See the following for some info: http://wordpress.org/support/topic/133945 . Hopefully this hasn’t happened to you (although remember we both use the same domain hosting company, so there is a risk for you). You should make sure your antivirus software is up to date. Cheers, Dad

    June 22, 2008 at 10:14 am

  6. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    Sounds like your having an awesome time over there. Can’t wait to see the pics start rolling in.

    Jamie Paterson

    June 22, 2008 at 4:00 pm

  7. dylanfox

    Cheers Jamie,
    Yeah I love it over here, as it is kind of a second home to me.

    Now I can really start to blaze away cause I picked up a 500G Western Digital external drive for $99!!!

    I think everyone should have a read of my Dads comment there considering most of us have sites and are using wordpress and what not!

    Cheers

    June 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm

  8. The old shot looked pretty good.

    I don’t know if you work in LAB but I’m guessing one lab curve with the A and B channels compressed will give it what it needs.

    June 23, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  9. dylanfox

    Yeah I use lab for certain things, but I find if you just convert a layer to luminosity it is basically the same as lab.
    I guess I’ll see in a few weeks.

    Cheers

    June 23, 2008 at 11:14 pm

Leave a Reply

