"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

There Comin’ To America

Well I’m in Denver Colorado after 30 hours of travel! I got pulled to the side 3 or 4 times to be searched for explosives and what not! Do I really look that suss? I did get a few looks from people when they asked for my passport and noticed that I had two.

I have a lot of family here so I have been coming to the states for the last 4 years but it was only this year when I was flying over L.A. that I really noticed the size of the place. L.A. is HUGE!!! I have been there a number of times but it didn’t hit me till yesterday! Not only are the cities huge but when I ordered a cheese burger meal I got TWO cheeseburgers a so called medium fries and coke (there medium is our large)! I never asked for the second burger but that is what a cheese burger meal here is i guess!

The flight from L.A. to Denver took us over the Colorado rover, the Grand Canyon, the Rockies and many other amazing scenes. I had never seen the Grand Canyon before and it too is huge! No one else seemed to interested but my face was glued to the window! I guess as landscape photographers we pay more attention to these amazing places, but also look at the possible photo ops!

I will be heading to a place called Ouray (I think thats how its spelt?) soon for a few nights which I am told is an amazing place. The places website also tells of the waterfalls, creeks, moutains etc that they have to offer. So I should be able to get to some amzing spots and finally shoot a waterfall which is something I have wated to so since I started this photography gig. I will also head up into the rockies fior a while since it is very short drive. There is still snow/ice up there so I might get some nice scenery.

I flew over with my older cousin who is from here but has lived with me for the last two years, working as a chef in local restaraunts and most recenlty up in Kununurra. So he knows his way around, I just don’t know how safe our drivingt will be????

Will heading to Indiana, Illinois and Michigan in a couple weeks, but will write some posts later.

Happy Shooting!

5 responses

  1. Hope you get some good shots. Travelling always seems to open the eyes both away and when I get home.

    On the waterfalls, there is a secret one in perth, its only small, but I can show you sometime where it is.

    June 19, 2008 at 1:04 pm

  2. Have a blast Dylan, and make sure you get a $6 burger from Carl’s Jr as where you going I don’t think there are any Fat Burger joints and they are the next best thing.

    You still ok with emailing me your details so I can do a direct deposit?

    June 19, 2008 at 2:08 pm

  3. dylanfox

    Yeah that sounds awesome James!

    Neal I haven’t exchanged my money yet since I forgot to do it in Perth, but I imagine I will be eating a lot of burgers and my favourite starbucks!

    Yeah I emailed my Mum to ask if you could just call her since she has the details… How much money do you need to put in?

    I’ll send you an email when I hear back from her!

    Cheers

    June 19, 2008 at 4:07 pm

  4. I’ll put in $110 AU that should cover the US$100. Unless you have a paypal account then I can do US$ direct.

    Let me know in an email which way you want to go. And get some sleep its got to be late there round 1.30am and sunrise will only be a few hrs away 🙂

    June 19, 2008 at 4:26 pm

  5. dylanfox

    Nah I don’t have paypal.
    Yeah I slept fine last night but this afternoon I was the tiredest I have ever been and could barely move a muscle! So I ended up waking up at 1am! I’ll keep ya posted!

    Cheers

    June 19, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

