"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

I Love It!

I was back in Fitzies today to pick up some prints including both my vertical Crawley Edge Boat Shed photos at 30 inches. Also got my Sugarloaf and the Woodend shot in the fields with the hay bails, prtinted at 40 inches (I might have already mentioned that somewhere?…

While I was in Fitzies a bloke asked if he could see my prints after hearing my name. He said he had just been on my site after finding my link on Christians blog. He said he really liked my work. It’s the first time Ive been recognised like that and it’s a pretty good feeling.

Here the previous image with a slightly more intense sky.

17 responses

  1. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    I’m picking up my first Fitzgeralds photo tomorrow and dropping off another to be printed. I got it printed on metallic paper and I’m really nervous and can’t wait to see what it turns out like.

    We all know the only reason why Christian does photography is because he’s a celebrity junkie!!! lol.

    Any way congrats Dylan, you’re working hard and deserve the recognition.

    Jamie Paterson

    June 12, 2008 at 8:46 pm

  2. I think I will be back there tomorrow to get another metallic print.

    Cheers Jamie

    June 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm

  3. jamiepatersonphotography

    I will be there at 1230.

    June 12, 2008 at 9:04 pm

  4. kirkhille

    Cool ,
    Im planning to go back and get a few more of mine printed up .
    Probally not for a couple of weeks but got to many bills to pay this week .
    Yeah I love that metalic print .
    Nice edit on this shot as well I think I prefer this one out of the three

    June 12, 2008 at 10:01 pm

  5. Ive only had two metallic prints one of which is in a gallery.
    I think that paper will look better like block mounted rather than behind glass, I think behind glass it loses its effect a little.

    Cheers Kirk I was hoping someone would prefer this one!

    June 12, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  6. lukeaustin

    How did the prints turn out Dylan? Do the prints match the monitor after calibration?

    June 12, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  7. Luke mate the screens are perfect now!
    Thanks heaps for that!
    Now you just need to get some done.

    June 12, 2008 at 11:52 pm

  8. Mel

    Wow I really like this edit better.Were you happy with your prints on the metallic paper.Can’t wait to get something done at a lab one day.How much did the 40 inch cost.Keep up th e good work your a star now!!

    June 13, 2008 at 11:22 am

  9. dylanfox

    Cheers Mel,
    Yeah metallic is awesome. I think with metallic you really have to choose the right photo for it.
    I haven’t got the receipt on me right now but I remember the 30 inch being like 30 some bucks.
    Once you start to get some big prints it just makes you want to print all ya stuff big cause it looks way better than the computer screen!
    Since I am taking these prints to the states with me I really want to get my perth city shot printed up, but I thin k with its 5:1 format I should wait and get it at like 80 inches!!!

    June 13, 2008 at 12:43 pm

  10. Mel

    Yeah thats cool.Need to stop beeing so scared about taking my stuff into the big wide world of a lab.What about colour profiles and getting the colour the same as my monitor how does that work?

    June 13, 2008 at 5:02 pm

  11. Well first make sure your screen is calibrated and then you can head over to Fitzies or wherever and they should be able to give you a disc or something with their colour profile ready to use.

    June 13, 2008 at 5:25 pm

  12. clintbaker85

    Yer im with just about everyone, i like this one heaps better, cheers for the comments mate im looking at doin a photoshop course with a place called ImageTree, heard they are really good so i need to learn anything and everything about PS…… thanks again

    June 14, 2008 at 7:26 am

  13. clintbaker85

    Yer im with just about everyone, i like this one heaps better, cheers for the comments mate im looking at doin a photoshop course with a place called ImageTree, heard they are really good so i need to learn anything and everything about PS…… thanks again

    June 14, 2008 at 7:26 am

  14. dylanfox

    Cheers Clint,
    I learnt the PS basics in school, but I feel it’s only recently that my skill have gotten better. Once I launched myself on the web and started to meet other photographers, you really learn a lot, plus buying the magazines and books. Still a lot of room for improvement which is the exciting bit!

    June 14, 2008 at 11:00 am

  15. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Clint,

    I learnt almost everything I know from Imagetree as they are now called. I know assist with all their photography courses and still learn new things every session.

    Jamie Paterson

    June 14, 2008 at 11:29 pm

  16. clintbaker85

    Great well im getting a phone call 2morw from a guy so hopefully ill be doing the course cheers

    June 16, 2008 at 1:00 am

  17. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Clint,

    That is most likely Rob Miller. He is the one I help out and he is fantastic.

    Jamie Paterson

    June 16, 2008 at 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

