"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

U.S.ofA.

Well I’m heading off to the states to see the family in a week. I think I will be doing a fair bit of photography.

My cousin and I are heading to his home town (also where my little sis was born), Denver. Him and I are planning to head up to a place called Ouray. Having seen it on the internet I think I might be in for some amazing scenery! It’s surrounded by mountains and has two waterfalls and a whole lot more! My uncle lives about 40 mins from the rockies so I think we will be up there camping, shooting & shooting (go figure).

Then we will be heading out to South Bend, Indiana for the big family reunion and my aunties wedding. That night after the wedding my generation of cousins will head out to the cottage on Hamlin Lake. We usually do the hour or so long walk to Lake Michigan. There are some amazing sand dunes a short boat ride from the cottage, which will hopefully make for some nice shots.

Being in the area I imagine I will spend a bit of time in Chicago, which is an amazing city.

Hopefully will get to a few baseball games. My baseball team (the Boston Red Sox) won the baseball season last year. I also love my basketball but that will be basically over by the time im there. Good news is that my team (the Lakers) are vs. the Boston Celtics for the Championship, but are already 2 games down (which is never good when the first to four wins, wins).

Well there ya go. I have basically given ya’ll my itinerary, and blabbered on about the MLB and NBA.

I just hope the 8 gigs of hard drive space left on my laptop will not get filled up while im there.

Happy Shooting!

14 responses

  1. Dude your gonna need a bigger hard drive. I filled up a little over 30 gigs while I was there and you shoot about as nuts as I do. Shame about the Lakers (NOT) Just not a Kobe fan at all. Would love to see Garnet/ Pierce and Allan get there first ring after playing awesome ball for 10 years. I watched the first 2 games live while I was there on TV the rest will be ESPN I guess over here.

    Have a blast in the US as I am sure you will.

    June 10, 2008 at 1:58 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Oh man Pierce owned the first game! But the next three games are in L.A. so hopfully we can get those three under our belts. Oh yeah I do love my Kobe jersey! haha

    Yeah I need more space, but if I change hard drives, am I able to move all the stuff on this one to the new one?
    I will probably grab a few more memory cards for my camera while im there cause they are stupid cheap. So i will look at hard drives as well.

    I watched a bit of last nights game at my mates, since i don’t have foxtel.

    Did you see the big base ball brawl? It was boston playing tampa bay I think!

    Cheers

    June 10, 2008 at 2:06 pm

  3. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    Sounds like you’re going to have an absolutely wicked time, I’m jealous! I agree with Neal, you’re going to need more disk space.

    Jamie Paterson

    June 10, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  4. lukeaustin

    Have a good one over there you lucky prick!

    June 10, 2008 at 7:05 pm

  5. dylanfox

    Cheers fellas.
    Yeah I just dunno how to upgrade my laptop disk space…

    June 10, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  6. buy a portable 100 gig drive they are so cheap in he US I bought a couple while I was there. All firewire or usb connections so no problem there. Yeah I saw that brawl. What was funny was Ozzies outburst yet again earlier in the week for the whitesox.

    I think LA will pick up 2 games back at home but I think boston will steal an away game and make it a 7 game series.

    I cant wait for September when the NFL starts, thats my favorite sport to watch. Nothng quite like watching a running back plough through 250lb+ guys for a 8 yards and a 3rd down.

    June 11, 2008 at 8:24 am

  7. kirkhille

    Have a great Trip Dylan ,Sounds like your going to get a heap of shots and have a great time .
    Your going to need a lot more hard drive space buy the sounds of it .
    Yeah as Neal said just buy an external hard drive there so cheap now you can get a 500 gig one for under $200 or you can get like a 200 gig one for under a $100 .

    June 11, 2008 at 9:15 am

  8. dylanfox

    Thanks for the info guys! Might be at the top of my list! So do you just save your files straight to an external drive?

    I dont follow the NFL Neal but I do think that Boston will pick up a game in L.A.. I would have to put my money on the Celtics though, just cause they have dominated all year. I didn’t think the Lakers would make it this far!

    Cheers

    June 11, 2008 at 9:38 am

  9. all i did Dylan was take my card reader and plug it straight into the external drive and download. Of course the external drive needs to be connected to your lap top at the time but thats it. The drive itself are a little bigger a pack of cigarettes. I think from memory I picked up 2 100 gig drives for under US$100 from Best Buy which are located everywhere over there.

    June 11, 2008 at 10:18 am

  10. I’ve been to the States and 8 gig just won’t do it!! You should definitily get an external drive as recommended by the others…dirt cheap now and so easy to use…just don’t lose it! You’ll have a great time…looking forward to see the pics! Have fun!!

    June 11, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  11. dylanfox

    Yeah Neal I checked already checked out the BestBuy site. What brand did you get?

    Cheers Sandy, I can’t wait to get out into some new locations and go shooting. Won’t be able to post anything until I get back though.

    June 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm

  12. kirkhille

    Hey Dylan ,
    With External drives I personally would either go with Western Digital or Segate , There more realiable then the other brands when comparing hard drive faliures . All my Hard drives are Western Digital at home and havent had one faliure in any of them plus all the IT guys at my work recommend either one .

    But all brands do the same job and you could pick up a cheaper one that will never have a problem and hard drive faliure isnt pretty common with new drives .
    But for a bit more peice of mind i normally buy one of those two , as I would hate it if I lost all my photos

    June 11, 2008 at 7:27 pm

  13. dylanfox

    Cheers Kirk,
    I think the ones I was looking at were Western Digital.

    June 11, 2008 at 7:49 pm

  14. Western Digital Dylan. Look for coupons when you get there for $20 off on them. The coupons are in local papers and in any grocery store like Safeway/Ralphs/ Walgreens etc.

    Dylan can I ask a favor when your in the US?

    June 12, 2008 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

