"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Sugarloaf Re-worked!

Okay it’s 1:30 on Monday morning and I have just finished working this shot on what seams to be the worlds worst worst computer! Still haven’t got PS for my macbook pro so still have to use the old pc which deserves to be shot in the face!

Anyway, here is the re-worked version of a shot I got while I was last in Dunsborough for Christians first course. It is an 11 image stitch but the sides were cropped a bit. I had to try this shot again cause as I saw the previous shot of it on my site I was sure it could be better. And big thanks to Luke for lending me his spyder2 so my screens are finally looking good and matching!

Tomorrow I will convert it to B&W and see how that looks.

Went back to trigg tonight, but didn’t have any spot in mind so my shot isn’t to exciting so I will also look at that tomorrow.

Happy Shooting!

15 responses

  1. Mel

    Nice shot I want to get there one day…..really soon I hope.I love down south!!

    June 9, 2008 at 7:38 am

  2. Nice work mate,
    Always pays to revisit old shots, I did the other day and found I got better results.

    Keep up that great work.

    June 9, 2008 at 9:09 am

  3. dylanfox

    Mel I love it down there too! so many places to shoot!

    Yeah Tom if i could I would go back over quite a few shots I think, but its pretty time consuming

    Cheers

    June 9, 2008 at 12:29 pm

  4. lukeaustin

    Well worked Dylan, it came out really good. Lots of mood. I’d say I will head out somewhere shooting this afternoon, not sure where as of yet though.

    June 9, 2008 at 2:40 pm

  5. Is that Christian Fletcher down on the rocks in front?

    June 9, 2008 at 2:58 pm

  6. dylanfox

    Cheers Luke. I might get out tonight, but not sure yet. Let me know where your going if you do end up going out.

    James I would like to say I had been on a shoot with Fletch, but that is two fisherman who were facing some huge swell.

    Cheers

    June 9, 2008 at 3:01 pm

  7. That rock is biiiiig. Like how the two fishermen add scale to the shot, didn’t realize it is so huge. It’s a great shot. Could perhaps be even more dramatic with a heavy vignette.

    June 9, 2008 at 3:12 pm

  8. dylanfox

    Yeah the fisherman really give a good scale. And figure that the rock must be like 70 odd metres away from them!
    I considered a vignette but decided not to. Probably based that decision on the fact that I had already been working on it for hours!

    Cheers

    June 9, 2008 at 3:36 pm

  9. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hey Mr Fox,

    Wicked photo. I’d love to see what the foreground rocks look like in B & W with Sugarloaf and the water surrounding it still in colour. I’m sure that is Fletch taking a photo. 😉

    Jamie Paterson

    June 9, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  10. kirkhille

    Great work mate ,
    Got the really Peter Eastway look to it .
    The people in the shot are good , gives people a referance to just how big it is .
    You going out shooting this weekend ?

    June 9, 2008 at 9:10 pm

  11. Cheers guys,

    Jamie the photo did lose a lot of its colour apart from the rock and the surrounding water. It’s being printed at Fitzies at 40 inches, along with the Woodend photo with the hay bails and about 5 other photos, all either 30 or 40 inches. One is sold so that will be good for a little extra cash over in the states.

    Yeah Kirk I remeber seeing those two blokes down there and thinking they would get taken by a wave! You can kinda tell by the white wash blurs from the long exposures that the swell was huge this day.

    I might try to get out for a shoot. But since I am off to the states next week I will be partying hard this w/e, and getting ready to head off. Should get some nice shots while I am there.

    Cheers

    June 10, 2008 at 12:12 am

  12. Very nice shot and process Dylan. Have a blast in the US, your off to the detroit area correct? TOns of lakes and the like around that area.

    June 10, 2008 at 10:19 am

  13. dylanfox

    Cheers Neal
    Yeah I leave on Tuesday. I’ll be in Denver first for a while and the Indiana, Michigan, and Chicago.
    I can’t wait!

    June 10, 2008 at 1:25 pm

  14. clintbaker85

    Great shot mate, got a link thru Christian Fletcher’s blog, mind if i add u to my links?

    June 10, 2008 at 3:39 pm

  15. dylanfox

    Cheers Clint,
    Yeah for sure!
    whats your URL?

    June 10, 2008 at 8:35 pm

Leave a Reply

