"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Mount Macedon!

(the second image has got a little more detail in the distance. I kinda tried to keep the detail in that area subtle)

Heres the first of my photos from my trip to Victoria. This is the stitched version of the previous post from Mount Macedon. It’s a 9 image stitch and I think looks very much so like what I pictured in my head when I drove around the top of the cloud covered Mountain in search of a suitable location.

I did a little framing job for the image in ps for a little nicer presentation. I should be able to get another shot up tonight or tomorrow from my trip. I have been so keen to start putting my photos together. I got home from the airport close to mid-night, got most of this image processed last night and added the finishing touches this morning before work.

My step brother over in Melbourne got into photography this year. I helped him start up his own blog while I was there as I think it would be great help to him to get tips on his images before handing them in for his class work.

Happy Shooting!

12 responses

  1. Good work! I really like the composition and the gum trees look great! You have great detail in the forest as well.
    I would wish for just a bit more detail in the fog, that big white area above the road draws my eye but there’s no detail there for my eye to rest on.

    May 14, 2008 at 3:08 pm

  2. Great work, mate. I gotta agree with Flemming on this one, but you might be able to fix that with some dodge/burning or levels adjustments fairly easily. Looking forward to seeing some more from your trip!

    May 14, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  3. Gorgoeus Dylan, as others have said maybe try a layer grad on the top ?

    May 14, 2008 at 5:00 pm

  4. dylanfox

    Cheers fellas,
    I did see that area but didn’t do anything about it cause I had to leave and I just wanted to post it. I will look at it again.

    Cheers

    May 14, 2008 at 5:20 pm

  5. kirkhille

    Great shot Dylan ,
    nice to see something different for a change .
    Great compostion , a nd grad layer as they Beau was saying would work great .
    Cant wait to see the rest , I should hopefully have another one of mine up tonight .

    May 14, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  6. dylanfox

    The top half has been lightened a little to get a sort of mystical look but I will try bringing that back a little in that middle area.

    Cheers

    May 14, 2008 at 7:13 pm

  7. merv french

    Dylan, for what it’s worth I liked the single shot a bit better.

    May 14, 2008 at 8:18 pm

  8. matthewinman

    Nice stitch mate, I’m with Flemming but, it might also translate nicely to B+W.

    May 14, 2008 at 9:06 pm

  9. The re-edit is much better! Nice.

    May 15, 2008 at 4:49 pm

  10. dylanfox

    Cheers mate,
    I like it better too, I just made sure I kept the detail very subtle which I think worked well.

    May 15, 2008 at 5:18 pm

  11. Well done Dylan, excellent work.

    May 20, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  12. dylanfox

    thanks a lot Matt!

    May 20, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

