"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Sneak Peak…

I took this photo at the local winery, out of the car window with the telephoto, just before being asked to leave… It’s only one image would have been good if I could have stacked 4 images but I didn’t have time.

There are lots of red and yellow trees here at the moment, and there has been some great light. I have been out shooting last few mornings and arvos and was able to shoot the best sunrise I have ever seen!!! Only problem at that sunrise was my blue hands with the temp at zero degrees! Have also had some interesting fog covering the paddocks. The local mountain is often covered by clouds and my step brother and I were walking through the forest and saw some very eerie shots.

Will have my work cut out once back in Perth next Wednesday, but I can’t wait to start putting the photos together!

Happy Shooting!

11 responses

  1. Looking forward to seeing your results Dylan, photographing something different (ie beaches all the time) should be a nice thrill as well. Enjoy your shooting holiday.

    May 7, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Yeah it’s great shooting something other than trigg and cott! haha
    It’s a good challenge since I have very little experience with this kind of scenery.

    Hows your site coming along?

    Cheers

    May 7, 2008 at 7:31 pm

  3. Sites pretty much ready to go. Its a little close to when I am about to bail so going to leave it till I get back to launch.

    May 7, 2008 at 10:12 pm

  4. dylanfox

    i can’t wait to see it mate!
    Beau has started scripting mine, check out beaumitchell.net/dylanfox

    when are you off to the states?

    May 8, 2008 at 8:04 am

  5. Just a couple more sleeps 🙂

    May 8, 2008 at 9:24 am

  6. matthewinman

    Nice one Dylan, nice to see someone else getting images of some arbour. I tried a few stitches like this (back ground out of focus) but the wind moved the leaves (of my tree) too much and PT GUI couldn’t work it. Enjoy the rest of your trip, can’t wait to see some more from the East!

    May 8, 2008 at 7:45 pm

  7. dylanfox

    Cheers Matt,
    PTGui might be able to stitch your photo if you put in some well placed control points…
    It’s good fun out here! Have been shooting everyday, and have found with the undulating landscape getting the right light is much more difficult than what I am used to.

    May 9, 2008 at 8:45 am

  8. beaumitchell

    Nice work, Dylan. Looking forward to seeing some more photos from your trip!

    May 9, 2008 at 9:00 am

  9. dylanfox

    Cheers Beau,
    As I have mentioned my sensor is basically covered with dirt and little clear spots have been rubbed away!
    There will be a lot of time spent cloning the dust spots out of the sky, but anything on the country land will blend in no problems!

    Went out fr another shoot this morning but it was a very average sunrise. the spot was about a 40 minute drive from where I am and the whole trip home was spent in the thickest fog I have ever seen. Hopefully will have similar fog tomorrow so I can go into the forest on the local mountain for some different shots.

    Cheers mate

    May 9, 2008 at 1:22 pm

  10. kirkhille

    nice work dylan , cant wait to see all finished works when you get back and post them .
    Just got back from Christian course , well worth it
    Got a fair few shots while I was down there as well hopefully will have one posted tonight ,
    The artic Butterfly model I got was 724 worked a treat on my senor .

    May 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  11. dylanfox

    yeah the courses are great!
    I still desperately need my sensor cleaned!
    Can’t wait to see your shots!
    Cheers

    May 11, 2008 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

