"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Seabird Rock, Minus The Birds

Heres my first photo with the Nodal Ninja 3. I am very pleased with it as I started shooting just as the light got good and only managed two pans of the shot. It’s a 10 image stitch and came to 810mb and a master image length of 180cm. The horizon was a mess, but simply because of my crap tripod and rushed effort. There was amazing colours in the sky right across this shot. Each shot was strung out to 20 seconds with the ND8, ND8 Grad and I think I also stacked the ND4 grad… It came out to almost spot on 4:1, so was cropped to 4:1.

This is the first time I have shot here, and I decided not to make the rock the focus point of the image.

I am looking to drove up to John Forrest National Park some time this week for some new shots before I head off to Victoria

Happy Shooting

9 responses

  1. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    This is a great shot!!! Well done. 🙂 Have you done any research as to where you are going to shoot in Victoria?

    Jamie Paterson

    April 28, 2008 at 8:52 am

  2. Well my Dad lives over there in a town about an hour North of Melbourne called Woodend. I know a few locations that I will shot and there are lots of amazing boulder covered paddocks. There is a huge waterfall in a surrounding area but I dont know if the water is flowing yet. Also at this time of year the trees turn bright yellow and red!

    Cheers

    April 28, 2008 at 11:26 am

  3. kirkhille

    Nice shot Dylan ,
    Got a few shots of that rock as well but nothing special ,
    Love the colors

    April 28, 2008 at 6:11 pm

  4. dylanfox

    cheers Kirk,
    Yeah for some reason I have never shot here before…
    I want some new locations!

    April 28, 2008 at 7:31 pm

  5. kirkhille

    yeah I know what you mean , going to have to take a drive around for a day and scout out some new locations

    April 28, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  6. dylanfox

    I did find a spot today that may or may not work… I want to head into the hills soon!

    April 28, 2008 at 10:00 pm

  7. Hi Dylan…love the shot! I’m new to this blogging business but am finding it’s great for discovering just how many good photographers are out there. Well done!

    April 29, 2008 at 9:54 am

  8. dylanfox

    Cheers,
    Yeah I love the blogs, they are a great learning tool!

    April 29, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  9. jamiepatersonphotography

    Might be worth a trip up to Euchuca and get some shot of the Paddle Steamers.

    April 29, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Leave a Reply

