"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Crawley Edge mkII

Went back to the boat house to try another new angle. Unfortunatley PTGui took to much info from the image just to the left of the jetty making it look angled at the bottom. I took one of the images looking right down the jetty to avoid this, but it happened. For some reason this series of shots had awesome colour in the water, but the boat house would stand out more if the clouds were right behind it. Other than that, I am pretty happy with it!

It’s a 7 image stitch, and would have been easier with my Nodal Ninja mkII that arrived today. I can’t wait to test it out!

Happy Shooting!

11 responses

  1. The Little Boat House That Could 😀 That boat house must be one of the most famous boat houses of all boat houses hehe.
    Nice shot! Colours and clouds are great and I think it works well with the opening in the clouds behind the boat house. For this sort of shot I dunno, maybe the bulls eye composition is actually better. Is it possible to stand on the beach a few meters away from the jetty and shoot this with the jetty going from left to right leading the eyes into the shot?
    I would think that with some manual editing of control points in PTgui it should be possible to straighten everything including the horizon.

    April 24, 2008 at 11:22 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Cheers Flemming,
    I have got a shot from last year that has the boat shed in the middle and so does just about everyone else.
    You can stand on the side in some bushes since the water usually comes right to the walls.
    Yeah I did do some manual control points and used ones to straighten the jetty but it didn’t get it right.
    Do you use the vertical or horizontal? I tried the horizontal on the jetty, and horizon.

    Cheers

    April 25, 2008 at 12:34 pm

  3. Nice work, man. Love the colours in this one.

    I still haven’t got anything on your website done… sorry about that, been really busy lately. And my internet is capped to 56k until next week which sucks.

    Send me a msg when you go out shooting next and I’ll try come along.

    April 25, 2008 at 12:35 pm

  4. kirkhille

    Nice shot Dylan ,
    Like the different composition bit different from the norm of the middle , great colors as well like the breack in the clouds

    April 25, 2008 at 1:27 pm

  5. dylanfox

    Thanks Kirk,
    I just love the colour of the water in this shot! All the other shots were pretty bland.

    April 25, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  6. kirkhille

    Yeah the water looks great .
    Had a chance to use your nodal Ninja yet ?
    Mine should arrive by next monday or Tuesday ,
    planning to go out to some more paddocks and country side to get some different shots

    April 26, 2008 at 11:15 am

  7. dylanfox

    Na I haven’t tried it out yet. Hopefully Sunday night.
    Yeah I can’t wait to get some country shots! I’m off to Melbourne Next saturday and will be staying in the country!

    April 26, 2008 at 11:52 am

  8. matthewinman

    Dylan, how about posting an appraisal on the Nodal Ninja, similar to what Matt Lauder did on his Precision 360? I wouldn’t mind seeing an independent review on this piece of hardware.

    April 27, 2008 at 6:10 pm

  9. dylanfox

    I’m yet to try it out, but Beau wrote something up on his blog at, beaumitchell.net

    I’ll let you know how it goes!
    Cheers

    April 27, 2008 at 6:17 pm

  10. matthewinman

    I’m hoping my Panosaurus won’t melt too soon, but your purchase is the likely replacement. How difficult would it be to fit a quick release plate to the Nodal Ninja do you think, I pulled it off with the Panosaurus so i could set it up for my lens and not have to worry about resetting it. Whats the Ninja like for quick removal as an ‘out of the box’ product?

    April 29, 2008 at 9:12 pm

  11. dylanfox

    I can’t answer the quick release question as I am not to sure…
    So far I like it but I will have to get a few shoots in before I give any form of a review.
    Cheers

    April 29, 2008 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

