"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Crawley Edge Boat House

Thes two are the touch upped shots.

I went down to Crawley yesterday afternoon with Olivia for some new shots of the boat house. I am not to sure if Oli got any keepers as her battery died. I had this composition in mind since there are countless shots in the landscape format, and I too have a landscape shot here.

The first was during the sunset, which brought about some amazing colours. The water on the jetty came from the huge waves (from the rotto ferries) coming in higher than the jetty in places! This was something I actually wanted to try for the reflections, and had originally planned to bring a bucket to poor water on it, but forgot to do so. The sky lit up even more after this shot but the clouds had moved towards the city. I was going to get a landscape stitch in, but I was asked by some Asian tourists to take there photo in front of the boat house on their phone.

The second was after the best of the light and had about a minute long exposures which probably weren’t long enough.

Both photos are four image stitches. The top used a ND8, ND8 Grad, and ND4 Grad. The second used the same but the ND4 was used upside down (just a little experiment).

Happy Shooting!

10 responses

  1. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    You know I’m a big fan of your work. 🙂 I really love the way you thought about taking a bucket down to get reflections off the jetty. In these two photos though I wish I could see more detail on the front of the boathouse, its a little dark and I think that would’ve enhanced the image heaps.

    Jamie Paterson

    April 22, 2008 at 8:44 am

  2. yeah thats what I think as well. I’ll look back through the files and see if there is a shot that will suite
    Cheers

    April 22, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  3. merv french

    I think i like the bottom one’s better, but over all they are a bit too gothic looking for me, if that discription makes sence.

    April 22, 2008 at 5:06 pm

  4. dylanfox

    Yeah the bottom two are the better edits.
    This was the look I was going for, a nice darkish kind of shots, since all my latest have been pretty bright and cheery shots.
    Cheers

    April 22, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  5. kirkhille

    Hey Dylan ,
    Like the re edited two better ,
    Nice work , spashing water on the jetty with a bucket would have looked great , I have heard of people bringing watercan to the beach to wet the rocks before they photograph

    April 22, 2008 at 11:36 pm

  6. nice angle Dylan

    April 23, 2008 at 1:27 pm

  7. kirkhille

    Just ordered my Nodal Ninja said they posted it today should arrive in 3 working days 🙂

    April 23, 2008 at 2:32 pm

  8. Little lost on what is what Dylan here but i like the bottom right if that helps, the tones seem a little softer and the house itself is a little lighter, what distracts me a little from this image is the dark overhead sky. Carefull on those filters, I have found sometimes less is more with filters and waiting on the right light is better that stacking in the wrong situation ….. Did that make any sense?

    April 23, 2008 at 2:59 pm

  9. dylanfox

    Thanks guys.
    Neal the bottom two are just the touched up versions of the top.
    I was kind of going for this over all look, including the fade to black sky. I might have over done it though, maybe the fade needed to take up less of the sky… (if that makes sense?).
    I’m pretty happy as it was close to what I had in mind before shooting.
    Cheers

    April 23, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  10. dylanfox

    I might head back here in the next few days to see if I can better it!

    April 23, 2008 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

