"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Trigg…

I went back to the trigg area on friday night as there were some storm clouds rolling in. I didn’t have a location in mind, but ended up at this beach (I will have to check it’s name). This is a 5 image stitch which was originally the right half of a 10 image stitch. I chose to only use these 5 for a better composition. I used the ND8 and ND8 grad filters, and ended up with exposures at 20 seconds from memory, at f11 or f13. It has had some levels and contrast adjustments, and this was enough to enhance the great colours.

Just after this shot some very strong winds came through along with the rain.It’s not my best work, but I think it turned out better than I expected.

Happy Shooting!

9 responses

  1. Hi Dylan, I really like it, great mood to the image and beautifully simplistic. The foreground is awesome as well, I am yet to stitch water but am looking forward to the challenge.

    Also I have posted some new details on the Canon 5D MKII on my blog if your interested http://thomasparkes.wordpress.com/

    Cheers Tom

    April 21, 2008 at 12:22 pm

  2. nice clouds Dylan. great simple image

    April 21, 2008 at 12:53 pm

  3. dylanfox

    Cheers fellas,
    I wish I had of focused on this composition as i think I could have done a bit better!

    April 21, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  4. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    I liked the ‘swirliness’ of the clouds. Great image.

    Jamie Paterson
    http://www.jamiepaterson.net

    April 21, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  5. dylanfox

    Yeah the clouds were rolling through real quick, and were doing some funky things. It was the start of some stormy weather, nd i think if you can get to a spot just before the storm hits you will be in for a good moody scene!
    Cheers

    April 21, 2008 at 3:03 pm

  6. Very nice cloud- and seascape, the clouds especially are super. It’s a little too blue and purple and saturated in the middle for my taste but that could also be due to jpeg compression, I’m sure the full size is awesome.

    April 21, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  7. dylanfox

    Cheers Flemming,It was actually Bluer but I gave it a warming filter to help it. I was thinking it might be a little to saturated even though it hasn’t had any direct saturation adjustments.

    Cheers

    April 21, 2008 at 4:17 pm

  8. kirkhille

    Nice simple shot dylan 🙂
    Very interesting clouds
    You get any of the sunset tonight ?

    April 21, 2008 at 11:11 pm

  9. dylanfox

    Cheers Kirk,
    Yeah I went out with Olivia tonight to Crawley Edge Boat House.
    I have a couple shots that will be posted tonight.
    Oh yeah my NN3 mkII could be here tomorrow but most likely by thursday!

    April 21, 2008 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

