"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Applecross Jetty

I took this photo yesterday morning in Applecross. It’s only a four image stitch, and it was difficult to even get four shots in as the light changing fast.

I went down with one of my best friends who is a passionate photographer. She isn’t based around landscapes but none the less is very keen for them, and also pretty good at capturing them considering she only started taking landscapes a couple months ago! I was meant to go on another shoot with her this morning but my alarm didn’t go off… (lucky for me it was raining)

Right as we walked up to the jetty in the dark, we saw movement in the water right on the sure. I first thought, “that guy sucks at swimming”. Once I noticed the size of the wake and that it wasn’t just coming from one thing i realised it wasn’t a person. I then saw a fin, and then thought “I hope that shark doesn’t jump out of the water and get me” (as the were only 4 or 5 metres off shore. I then realised it was actually 3 dolphins (but I don’t understand why dolphins were in the river heading upstream? A couple of them ran into the jetty and got really confused. A couple minutes later another 2 dolphins swam past making an even bigger wake. They too ran into the jetty!

Happy Shooting!

7 responses

  1. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    I live close to Canning River and pretty much grew up on it. They have always been there, you see them heaps in the shallow parts just below Mt Henry bridge rounding up the fish. Sometimes at night you’ll see them come very close into shore, so close you could almost touch them. They almost disappeared but since people have been making an effort to clean things up they have been coming back. I actually saw a baby one the other day, very cute.

    As for the photo, as always I love it. You should look at doing an exhibition at Heathcote next year. 🙂 Thanks for the heads up on my blog, its fixed now.

    Jamie Paterson
    http://www.jamiepaterson.net

    April 17, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  2. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    That is Deepwater Pt jetty not Applecross Jetty. 🙂

    Jamie Paterson
    http://www.jamiepaterson.net

    April 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

  3. dylanfox

    Yeah I didn’t know the name of it so I justed called it Applecross.
    I am going to do an exhibition at my house as my mum used to do it annually for her art work, and it worked really well.

    April 17, 2008 at 1:22 pm

  4. jamiepatersonphotography

    Yeah but Heathcote is a really flash place on the river, in summer it gets heaps of people through it. Also the City of Melville which owns it puts in some money to send invites out etc…..

    Good exposure. Here is the link.

    http://www.melvillecity.com.au/arts-events/art/heathcote-museum-gallery/artists-want-to-exhibit-at-heathcote-gallery

    Jamie Paterson

    April 17, 2008 at 1:29 pm

  5. kirkhille

    Nice work Dylan ,
    Really getting this nice purple skys .
    Get any shot of the lighning last night ?
    I was watching it from work wish I had of had my camera .

    April 17, 2008 at 8:03 pm

  6. Love the colours you captured in this shot, man. I was thinking about heading here tonight but then decided not to. My mum just paid for a return flight for me to go visit my parents in June on the Gold Coast… Sweet, can’t wait to get back there!

    April 17, 2008 at 9:26 pm

  7. dylanfox

    Cheers Beau!
    Kirk, I didn’t get any lightning shots, but I did think about it.
    Did any one else get some shots of it?

    April 18, 2008 at 12:32 am

Leave a Reply

