"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Sunrise at Cott

Got up this morning for a Cottesloe shoot with Neal and finally met Beau, and you can see the two of them in the right hand corner. There was good cloud cover and this was shot before the best light. The clouds started to light up but there was lots of school groups and runners by then. I also got to have a look at Beau’s Nodal Ninja, which looks like a very nice piece.

This is a 8 image stitch which had a few problems concerning the waves lining up. Just out of frame to the left is a light that created a nice spot light effect, or was it the sun beaming through the gap in the clouds right on to the tea rooms, the lighting I waited for, for days? maybeee……

It’s had some level adjustments and brightness/contrast, and a warming filter was added to the clouds.

Cheers

10 responses

  1. kirkhille

    nice image πŸ™‚
    Love the colors .
    Yeah would have loved to go down there this morning but was at work at 4am 😦
    Will probally try and head there this afternoon .
    Yeah got a bit of extra money from working so much so I was thinking of ordering the Nodal ninja and new tripod this month . Will also be ordering my two new lens this week πŸ™‚
    Let me know when you guys are heading out next time

    April 7, 2008 at 2:53 pm

  2. beaumitchell

    Yeah, I like that angle, I should have tried one from there! And I’m in the photo, haha!

    Next time I’ll let you use the Nodal Ninja if you like, so you can try it before you buy one… I’ve got Tues, Wed, Thurs off work so if you want to go out again i’ll most likely be free.

    I just posted one of mine from this morning on my blog.

    ps. is it wordpress that is compressing your photos to 60kb?

    April 7, 2008 at 3:04 pm

  3. dylanfox

    Cheers Beau

    Yeah i’m always keen to shoot. I think we need a new location though…

    I just got back from Fitzies and my 30 inch Dunsborough shot, and 24 inch cott photo both have problems. The dunsborough photos has some big old dust spots and the sky in the cott photo is blown a bit. I have already got the cott photo printed before but I realized it was to dark so i lightened it. Hopefully third time lucky!

    Cheers

    April 7, 2008 at 5:18 pm

  4. jamiepaterson1

    Dylan,

    Keep up the good work. Your work will just keep getting better and better.

    Jamie

    April 7, 2008 at 6:35 pm

  5. dylanfox

    Cheers Jamie.

    For the first time I’m actually excited about starting work! I can’t wait for new gear.

    April 7, 2008 at 8:21 pm

  6. Looking good Dylan, I like it … Maybe you should look at a 1D mrk II second hand they are damn good value right now and will only get better.

    April 7, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  7. Looking good Dylan, I like it … Maybe you should look at a 1D mrk II second hand they are damn good value right now and will only get better.

    April 7, 2008 at 10:58 pm

  8. dylanfox

    Yeah, it’s still at least a few months away, but I was going to ask how you think the 1D series compares to a 5D?

    April 7, 2008 at 11:06 pm

  9. Nice image Dylan, I’d clone out the guys in the foreground though just in case they try to sue πŸ˜†

    With the dust spots I always find it useful to zoom into 100% or 200% in Lightroom and scan the whole image. Mostly the spots only show up on the sky but bad ones can be visible elsewhere too.

    April 7, 2008 at 11:32 pm

  10. dylanfox

    Yeah you never know what those blocks will do for some cash! (don’t think they will shake any from my pockets!)

    I get dust on the sensor from changin lens to much. I cant wait to get the 24-70 and be settled with that for a while!

    Cheers

    April 7, 2008 at 11:38 pm

Leave a Reply

