"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Back to the Boat Shed!

Went back to Mosman Park this afternoon, to try and get some decent shots to better the shot from this morning. Luckily the nice clouds came back through. I got there at about sunset and this is one of the first panos I took down there. It’s a 7 image stitch. I had to crop it more than I would have like to as the lens was zoomed out a little to much.

Lucky for me once the sun was down the bright city lights lit up the clouds again. I have seen the sky do this a few times, and I was lucky for it to happen this morning (which is the reason I got out for a shoot) and luckier that it happened again tonight. I find with soft smooth bottomed clouds show this ‘glow’ the best.

This photo took 16 minute to capture. It is a 4 image stitch, each exposure being 4 mins long (a lot of waiting around with two black swans). There isn’t to much noise but because it was so dark it is a tiny bit out of focus.

The clouds have a very visible red tint to the naked eye, but once your exposures get over 30 seconds this is what you get. It’s had some level and contrast adjustments in PS. I had a torch with me which I used to ‘paint’ the jetty and boat shed. I wish it were a stronger torch so I could have used it for focusing purposes. But if I hadn’t used this to light the boat shed it would have been much redder, and I also used it on the water to get better exposure.

Oh yeah did I mention i got mealed by hundreds of huge mosies?!?

11 responses

  1. kirkhille

    nice shots Dylan , the place was worth coming back for .
    I personal Like the top one .
    At work at the moment but should have one of my shots up this afternoon

    April 6, 2008 at 8:38 am

  2. merv french

    Hey Dylan I see Pra have the 50m canon 1.8 for $125 you can’t miss at that price.

    April 6, 2008 at 10:34 am

  3. Cheers Kirk. The shot was easy, it was just the waiting around. If I could have been bothered I would have tried like 6min exposures. Buti think this worked well anyway.

    Yeah I saw that aswell Merv, but like I was told when I first started buying my own equipment by Matt Galligan, and other photographers, theres no point getting the cheap stuff. Fletch will tell you the same thing. I start work on Wednesday, so now I will actually be able to start saving for the 5D and I will also want to get the canon 24-70 f2.8 L lens. Yeah that means I will be using my same equipment for a 3 or 4 months but it will be worth the wait!

    Cheers

    April 6, 2008 at 11:36 am

  4. dylanfox

    Cheers Kirk. The shot was easy, it was just the waiting around. If I could have been bothered I would have tried like 6min exposures. But I think this worked well anyway.

    Yeah I saw that as well Merv, but like I was told when I first started buying my own equipment by Matt Galligan, and other photographers, theres no point getting the cheap stuff. Fletch will tell you the same thing. I start work on Wednesday, so now I will actually be able to start saving for the 5D and I will also want to get the canon 24-70 f2.8 L lens. Yeah that means I will be using my same equipment for a 3 or 4 months but it will be worth the wait!

    Cheers

    April 6, 2008 at 11:38 am

  5. merv french

    yeah you’re right about getting cheap stuff, but there’s cheap stuff and then there’s cheap stuff, the 360 pano head is a good example of that, turns out that it MIGHT not be the way to go.

    Photography is good fun but the way I see it at the moment is everyone who picks up a camera think’s they are a photographer. Just have a look at the net there’s millions of photo’s on there everyone wants to get into it ,start a web site and just start selling print’s, how many pictures of Perth city or Cott beach can one take. i don’t think it happens like that.

    I’m not trying to put you or anyone else down in anyway but throwing money into it is not always the way to go straight up, remember what Fletch also said he’s been at it for 17 years and he’s getting a return for effort.

    Mind you having said all that I’ve got a fair bit tied up in gear I suppose but not as much a race car or a boat or a horse for that matter so maybe if it turns you on, just do it!!!!

    April 6, 2008 at 2:04 pm

  6. dylanfox

    well if you love it, why not?!?
    If I get a 50mm it will probably be the same one Kirk is getting.
    But I would like the 24-70 first! haha
    Cheers

    April 6, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  7. dylanfox

    And if you want your work to stand out over the rest of the stuff on the net, you should go all out I reckon! A good piece of glass can really make a photo and nice canon 5D or !Ds will really boost your image quality!
    It’s for the love

    April 6, 2008 at 4:00 pm

  8. merv french

    dylan ….google ” annette blattman” she’s an australian photograher from NSW i think has a Canon 300d and looks like she has recently upgraded to a “new” 30d nothing to flash with the gear, but does fantastic work and has won a few comp;s world wide.

    April 6, 2008 at 4:54 pm

  9. nice pics Dylan, I think you could get more light in the right of the purple image. Try a levels adjustment to bring up the whites then rub back any areas that have blown out. May brighten the areas that need it. I think you should go the good glass as my experience has shown me that you will always want it because you know it can make a difference even if it is only in your eyes. Merv is still right however and it is what you do with it sometimes that makes the difference. I have a photo taken with the crappiest Nikon I have, that sells all the time because it is an image people connect with. You have plenty of enthusiasm, it is just a matter of time and you will be on your way. Good to hear you have a job now, hopefully not like my one washing dishes!!!

    April 6, 2008 at 10:45 pm

  10. dylanfox

    Cheers Chrisitian,
    I thought about lightening the side but I kind of like the way its dark and gloomy! But I will have a look at it and let you know what i think.
    Yeah i think most the work I am doing will be packing shelves as it’s at the local IGA. I’m friends with manager and told her not to put me on checkout. I don’t how many hours I will get but my aim is to have the 5D and 24-70 lens in a few months. I plan to live in the states for a while so I will be looking to have a good kit by then. Mind you when I was shooting with Jamie I was talking about my 400D, kit lens and cheap tripod, but he assured me that I was doing great things with it, and that I was proving you can’t just rely on expensive gear!

    One of my best sellers is one of my first ever landscape photographs taken a year ago at the basin. It’s one photo cropped to a pano, so the resolution is awefull, but I have only sold it at a max of 24 inches.

    Neal, Jamie, Beau and I are looking to head back your way on the 19th by the way.

    Thanks for the feed back mate, I really appreciate it.

    April 6, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  11. merv french

    dylan ..that’s my point YOU ARE doing great things with what you have at the moment. Sure get the better gear down the track as things fall into place a bit, but my advise is don’t rush, see what YOU need, for your style. You are keen at the moment and like all of us want the best today ,it will come, keep up the good work.

    April 7, 2008 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

