"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Back to Bennion Bay!

bennion-bay-portrait-jpeg100.jpg

I met up with Kirk Hille this afternoon for a shoot back at Bennion Bay. These limestone coastlines look awesome with this cloud cover. We did get rained on a couple times, but still got some images. I was lucky to get this 4 image stitch. The next set of shots of this scene were interupted by a walker, and then it started to rain. After the rain the light on these rocks was nothing compared to this. I don’t know how any light was reaching them through the clouds, but they looked great.

This image has had some levels, contrast and a slight selective colour (darkened the reds in the rocks) adjustments.

bennion-bay-glowing-rock-jpeg.jpg

Just as we were packing up I took two last photos for this image. It’s an HDR image, one image at 45sec the second at 60sec. The tungsten street lights had come on and were lighting up the rock face. I had to desaturate the rock a little cause of the intensity.

3 responses

  1. kirkhille

    Nice work Dylan 🙂
    Im still working on my first image its the biggest one I have done so far , giving my computer a really good work out
    I should have it posted by tonight .
    Let me know when your heading out again

    April 5, 2008 at 12:40 am

  2. Your getting a nice range in these shots Dylan. Are they HDR with tone mapping. I find tone mapping really adds in the noise in a shot. Hence I just stick with doing it all in PS, well as a good a job as I can anyway.

    April 5, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  3. dylanfox

    Cheers Matt.
    The second image was two slightly different exposures in tone mapping. The noise wasn’t to bad, but I think the more images you use and the greater the difference in exposures, the more noise you will get.
    Yeah the first worked out well I’m pretty happy with it.
    Cheers

    April 5, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

