"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Bennion Bay

bennion-bay-jpeg100.jpg

I took this photo this afternoon down at Bennion Bay. I wanted to try and get some moody pics with the thick cloud cover rolling through. PTGui had some troubles with it, but when you shooting a 7 image stitch, each shot in portrait format on a non-pano head, what can you really expect?  Noise Ninja would help this photo a lot, as it was 30 second exposures on the 400D.

I think I might head back to this spot in the morning, if it’s not to windy.

45 responses

  1. That’s quite a nice image, Dylan, very moody… Let me know if you want to go on a shoot on either Thursday or Friday…

    April 1, 2008 at 1:08 am

  2. Gorgeous tones Dylan, this maybe my favorite of yours to date.

    April 1, 2008 at 8:24 am

  3. kirkhille

    Great shot ,
    Love the colors and moody sky ,
    Yeah i wanted to gt some shot with clouds yesterday but was stuck at work

    April 1, 2008 at 9:13 am

  4. dylanfox

    yeah thursday sounds best, but I’ll have to get back to you beau to let you know for sure.

    Cheers Neil, it’s good to here that cause I wasn’t even sure I would put it on my website! Now I definitely will!

    Kirk, I have been waiting for these clouds, to get something like this. This week is looking pretty good as far as clouds are concerned. A job is what I so badly need, cause I need a new tripod ($500), pano head ($200, and once I have a 5D and a new lens, I will probably get the 360 precision). What am I talking about, you all know the expenses!

    Cheers Guys.

    April 1, 2008 at 11:44 am

  5. thomasparkes

    Hi Dylan,
    Great shot, I think you captured the mood well.
    I might fork out for the 360 absolute, but still interested in the Kaidan. I might wait until the 5d mkII comes out, as I really like the liveview and sensor cleaner.

    Cheers Tom

    April 1, 2008 at 12:36 pm

  6. dylanfox

    Cheers Tom,
    Mate go for it! Without a job it’s hard for me to do the same, but once I start working the 360 is what I will consider.
    Yeah I will wait for the 5D mkII as well.

    April 1, 2008 at 12:47 pm

  7. kirkhille

    Nice , what tripod you looking at getting ?
    Im probally going to buy a new one soon my cheap ones just about had it . Will probally wait and save up for a pan head as well at the same time .

    April 1, 2008 at 1:32 pm

  8. dylanfox

    i think probably this one.
    http://www.praimaging.com.au/d940-110-manfrotto-055mf4-055-mag-fiber-tripod-4-sct.html
    yeah and the pano head will probably come first.

    April 1, 2008 at 3:28 pm

  9. thomasparkes

    Hi Dylan,
    That is the tripod I have, it is great. It’s light weight, compact and great for hiking. I have a benbo as well but much to heavy. Also the mf4-055 has a level bubble on the tripod itself and you can lay the arm horizontally. A good purchase.

    Cheers Tom

    April 1, 2008 at 3:48 pm

  10. dylanfox

    Thanks for that Tom! It’s nice to hear about it from someone who actually uses one.
    Cheers

    April 1, 2008 at 3:53 pm

  11. Hey Dylan, Nice photo.

    Where is Bennion Bay? I can’t find it on a Google Earth, or just by doing a search on Google..

    April 1, 2008 at 8:04 pm

  12. dylanfox

    It’s the next bay up from Sea bird rock.
    In google earth, search Bennion Bay, Perth
    Cheers

    April 1, 2008 at 8:22 pm

  13. dylanfox

    Ok, that search worked for me the first time but now it wont. Just search for Trigg and there is a road heading west-east called Bennion rd, and thats where the bay is.

    April 1, 2008 at 8:27 pm

  14. matthewinman

    That is a really nice image Dylan, I like that foreground and the moodiness of the sky. Top photo, try getting the panoramic head and hanging some extra weight to your current tripod to hold it steady. I took a lightweight Kmart job to Tassie a few years ago with a small bag hanging from the centre column. Then I put a rock in it for long exposures or when I was standing in the water. It’s not a good look but it worked!

    April 1, 2008 at 8:40 pm

  15. dylanfox

    Yeah I often hang my camera bag from my tripod. It’s only worth like $90 but it does alright for itself.

    April 1, 2008 at 8:48 pm

  16. kirkhille

    Im the same only got a cheap $100 tripod and hang my bag from it as well . Does the job and Im not worried about taking it into the water

    April 1, 2008 at 10:12 pm

  17. jamiepaterson1

    Hi Dylan,

    Looks like you got everyone talking about your latest image!!!! Well done. 🙂

    Jamie Paterson
    http://www.jamiepaterson.net

    April 1, 2008 at 10:18 pm

  18. dylanfox

    Cheers Jamie.
    I’m a little concerned about the noise in this image though. If theres a loose Noise Ninja out there?..??
    Cheers

    April 1, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  19. Tom,

    With my 360 precision head, after using it for a week now and also carrying it around for a day on a course I ran I can give a lot of honest feedback if you like on it. Not to mention the non existent after sales service. So drop me an email.

    Matt

    April 2, 2008 at 6:39 am

  20. I would be interested in that info Matt as my 360 absolute should be arriving next week and from what I hear no instructions on how to assemble. spool1968 ( at ) yahoo dot com

    April 2, 2008 at 10:51 am

  21. merv french

    Dylan ….great pic this one, your work is coming along in leaps and bounds,good luck to you.

    I’m wondering what the big deal is with the 360 absolute head everybody seems to want one ..why?

    there are plenty of pano heads on the market and I’m sure most of them would do the trick for a lot less cost I’d be intersted to hear Matts comments now that he has used one for a while.

    dylan is taking some great shots here with only the tripod so not sure how a $1500 head is going to improve things that much more.

    I’ve made a point of buying good glass for the front of the camera before almost anything else as that is where the quality comes from.

    Not having ago at anyone here but just trying to get some thought on things.

    April 2, 2008 at 11:27 am

  22. dylanfox

    Cheers Merv.
    Yeah my shots are coming out pretty well, but you should have seen the stitching job before it was touched up!
    the horizon was a mess and serious parallax problems.
    I’m looking at getting the nodal ninja. Once I have a 5D and a prime lens or at least a very good piece of glass I will consider the 360.
    Just by looking at the 360 absolute, you can see that the thing will be sturdy and precise, especially since it is made for your camera and lens.
    Cheers

    April 2, 2008 at 11:38 am

  23. merv french

    I agree it sure is a solid piece but with a solid price to match.

    One thing i’m not sure that I would like, if I understand correctly is the fact that it is made and fixed to 1 lens size only. You never know when you might change len’s or even change your complete kit over to another make.

    you haven’t been having to many problems stiching things so far have you. what lens are you using?

    I use ptgui and its great. Ive shot some panos hand held when I’ve seen something and don’t have the tripod and it’s never really a problem ,most people would never tell the difference.

    April 2, 2008 at 12:00 pm

  24. dylanfox

    No stitching hasn’t been toooooo bad… but it could be much better.
    My biggest problems are usually the horizon and parallax. (I get a lot of parllax without the pano head)
    I still use the 18-55 (i think it is) that came with my camera, and I use the sigma 10-20mm.

    April 2, 2008 at 12:23 pm

  25. merv french

    Are you using the 10-20 for pano’s because that will be the problem with the horizon not lining up, it just won’t work at that zoom range. you should stay at 50mm or above.

    Have a look at the Canon 50mm 1.8 the plastic fantastic they call it. It’s cheap,you should be able to get one for under $150, and it’s just one that you should have in your bag,can’t miss at that price. it is a good lens.

    April 2, 2008 at 12:35 pm

  26. merv french

    Check out this link if you haven’t got it it’s one of the better lens review sites

    http://www.photozone.de/all-tests

    April 2, 2008 at 12:44 pm

  27. dylanfox

    Yeah I know I shouldnt use the wide angle but it’s usually not to bad if the horizon is centered. I will look at a 50mm or the 24-70mm

    April 2, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  28. matthewinman

    I’m getting good results with the Panosaurus, I know it has it’s distracters, but I’m stitching images in a young Wandoo Forest. I’ve just printed @ 8″x24″ and no ones been able to find the joins yet.

    April 2, 2008 at 7:05 pm

  29. matthewinman

    Although I can see the scratch made by my grey grad, a new one is on order!

    April 2, 2008 at 7:07 pm

  30. dylanfox

    I’m doing my first canvas print tomorrow. It’s going to be the new cott print, at 60 inches!!! biggest print ive done before, it should look good!
    cheers

    April 2, 2008 at 7:24 pm

  31. matthewinman

    That’ll look Awesome on canvas!

    April 2, 2008 at 7:41 pm

  32. dylanfox

    i have read this in places before, and just read it again. say you have a camera that has a sensitivity range from 100-1600ISO. How can you expand that to 50-3200ISO?

    April 2, 2008 at 8:09 pm

  33. jamiepaterson1

    Woo Hoo. I’m off to the pinnacles this weekend. Hopefully I’ll get some great pics.

    April 2, 2008 at 8:28 pm

  34. dylanfox

    hopefully you will get some good cloud cover. i would love to semm them with a nice overcast sky!

    April 2, 2008 at 8:34 pm

  35. jamiepaterson1

    Hopefully. You know I’ve had bad luck with the clouds lately. Fingers crossed.

    Jamie Paterson

    April 2, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  36. merv french

    As far as I know only some of the higher end cameras can be expanded up to a higher ISO by way of the custom settings. I haven’t heard of a digital camera with 50 ISO but i could be way off the mark there.

    You would have to check the camera spec’s to see if either of these is possible.

    April 2, 2008 at 10:49 pm

  37. dylanfox

    I think it’s mentioned in a book I have or somewhere.
    I’ll have a look for it.

    April 2, 2008 at 11:40 pm

  38. dylanfox

    I actually just remembered that once with an image that had a bit of noise in the clouds, I just gave the clouds the smallest motion blur and it seemed to really clear up the noise! might do it again with this one and the new shot.
    cheers

    April 3, 2008 at 12:24 am

  39. jamiepaterson1

    Hi Gents,

    I know on my 5D I was able to set an iso of 50 using custom settings and can do so on my 1Ds MkIII as well. I predominately use iso 100 though.

    April 3, 2008 at 9:22 am

  40. Neal,

    Im still waiting for a reply from the guys at precisions. Their tech support email form on their site dosent work. So far I have sent two emails to their orders dept and one direct to Matt who contact me within 24 hours each time. Now it has been over a week and no reply. Not happy… I emailed you my initial assessment of the head. Next step is to accept their poor after sales service and post a blog about it all for a bit of customer awareness.

    April 3, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  41. merv french

    From what matt has said I think it might pay to have a look around for other pano heads.

    Price is not always a indication of the best.

    You could always make your own for under a $100

    April 3, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  42. matthewinman

    Actually, I think you could, easily. If you put function before form (looks) it can be done. I’ve already modified mine with a quick release plate so I can remove the camera from the ‘Pano’ head easily. The Whole ‘Pano’ head is attached to a quick release plate for the tripod. The sit that put me on to the Panosaurus made his own to start with, from stuff from the local hardware. If you read the instructions (free to download) and look at the physics, construction and don’t care about fashion, some timber and a shelf bracket will do you fine. And setting it up will teach you about parallax! 🙂

    April 3, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  43. matthewinman

    These are the sites I was trying to remember:

    http://www.tawbaware.com/maxlyons/index.h

    http://www.tawbaware.com/maxlyons/panhead_d60.htm

    The first is to the main site, the second will show you the hardware (Read “Bunnings” here) check out those wingnuts!

    April 3, 2008 at 10:16 pm

  44. matthewinman

    Sorry,
    the first link should have been:

    http://www.tawbaware.com/maxlyons/index.html

    That works a bit better!

    cheers

    April 3, 2008 at 10:26 pm

  45. dylanfox

    I took this photo back through photoshop to add a motion blur to the sky. Now theres no noise issue and it adds a little something to the overall image, i think.

    April 3, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

