"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Cottesloe Stinks!

cott-vertical-jpeg100.jpg

I got this photo last night down at Cottesloe. There was an amazing sunset, which eventually made its way into my photo. I’m really happy with this photo, and I think the weird black sand worked out pretty well. It’s a four image stitch with the usual minor touch ups.

The title Cottesloe, isn’t cause it was a bad night to shoot, but Cottesloe had a pretty funky smell about it in some areas last night.

When I got the best light for this photo, I turned around and got this one.

cott-groyne-hdr-jpeg100.jpg

Yes, it’s another HDR image. I’m having a lot of fun with photomatix, I’m still not very good at it, but I can only get better.
I converted this image to grayscale, and got something pretty cool,

cott-groyne-hdr-bw-jpeg100.jpg

When I was leaving the beach I turned around for on last look, and realised that the sunset over the groyne was still awesome. Next time I will remember that, and try a photo from a new spot.

22 responses

  1. Gorgeous image Dylan, Wonder what that black dirt was all about? At least you captured something different in the end. I look forward to taking some images in Hawaii a those beaches with the black sand, they dont stink πŸ˜‰

    March 28, 2008 at 10:33 am

  2. dylanfox

    Yeah all the kids walking past were asking their parents what was wrong with the sand.
    It’s early in the day but the clouds are looking promising.
    cheers

    March 28, 2008 at 10:36 am

  3. kirkhille

    Wow , Love the top image the black sand works well with the shot .

    March 28, 2008 at 10:45 am

  4. dylanfox

    Yeah I wasn’t sure how the black sand would work, but I think it looks cool.
    I know everyone’s gonna be looking forward to beer o’clock, but I think I might head back to watermans tonight and maybe even today if anyone is interested.

    March 28, 2008 at 10:52 am

  5. kirkhille

    Would love too take some photos tonight , but working till 1 am .
    Might stay up and take some photos tomorrow morning at sunrise lol

    March 28, 2008 at 11:28 am

  6. Love the vertical pano, Dylan. It almost looks as though you have desaturated the bottom half of the image, although I know you haven’t because the black sand is there in my Cottesloe photo from a few nights ago… (http://beaumitchell.net/bmphoto/images/standard/WA018.jpg)

    March 28, 2008 at 11:40 am

  7. dylanfox

    Kirk, I got woken up this morning by some intense light pouring into my room. I looked out my window thinking w.t.f. is going on! It was a awesome sunrise to the south, and I wish i was out shooting for it, but I had only been sleeping for a couple hours so I went straight back to sleep.

    March 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

  8. dylanfox

    Cheers Beau.
    yeah the sand hasn’t been desaturated, it’s just like that at the moment for some reason.

    March 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  9. jamiepaterson1

    Sunrise was beautiful tonight. I’m off to try and capture something as nice as yours Dylan. You have a fantastic ‘eye’. Well done.

    March 28, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  10. dylanfox

    Cheers Jamie. I’m probably heading down to Watermans Bay if any one is interested…

    March 28, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  11. thats a great shot Dylan, one to be proud of. Your not bad at this photography thing aren’t you!! With the other shot just watch you don’t blow out your highlights or over saturate the image too much. The colours can block up a bit as they go out of gamut and you don’t get a nice gradation of colour but a harsh line from one to the next.
    cheers

    March 28, 2008 at 3:49 pm

  12. dylanfox

    Cheers Christian.
    Props from a pro! thats always nice.
    Yeah the HDR is still a work in progress. I need to practice those. The worst part is the really blown area above the groyne!
    Cheers

    March 28, 2008 at 4:12 pm

  13. jamiepaterson1

    Hy Dylan,

    Where is Waterman’s again? How far is it from Scarbs?

    March 28, 2008 at 4:38 pm

  14. dylanfox

    Its just past a boat club or something about 2 mins north of seabird rock. Theres a few watermans places but im going to watermans “bay”. The car park is one that sits on the beach (pretty much) a little below the road.
    hope that makes sense

    March 28, 2008 at 5:33 pm

  15. jamiepaterson1

    what time you going to be there? I think I’ll duck up and say hello.

    March 28, 2008 at 5:37 pm

  16. dylanfox

    probably about 630

    March 28, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  17. jamiepaterson1

    I’ll leave now and say hello as I’m coming fromo Mt Pleasant. Remember I’ve got red hair so should be easy to spot. πŸ™‚

    March 28, 2008 at 5:55 pm

  18. jamiepaterson1

    Hi Dylan,

    It was great to catch up. Great spot that you’ve found. We’ll have to get that trip down south happening.

    Jamie Paterson
    http://www.jamiepaterson.net

    March 28, 2008 at 9:06 pm

  19. dylanfox

    Yeah down south will be gettin good this time of year I reckon.
    And we might just get a certain someone along for a beer!

    March 28, 2008 at 11:03 pm

  20. I’m in for a trip south πŸ˜‰

    March 29, 2008 at 11:33 am

  21. dylanfox

    well I’m pretty much always available. I have a weekend that I know of next month I think that I couldn’t go, and I’m in melbourne from the 3rd of may to the 13th.

    March 29, 2008 at 11:50 am

  22. jamiepaterson1

    Seems all we need is a date. The caravan is free nearly all the time. Maybe we should try and tee something up for May. That way most of the crowds will be gone by then.

    March 29, 2008 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

