"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

I Think It’s North Beach???

north-beach-sunset-jpeg100.jpg

This is the image I was talking about earlier. No stitching, but it is two images. I don’t think it really counts as a true HDR image, but I had to have two exposures to get the sky correctly exposed. I think it turned out alright. It was about a 15 second exposure, which explains the flat water, cause the waves were huge and smashing over the wave cut platform (that’s a geological feature I learned in yr 11 Geography). It’s a pretty good location, very rocky coastline, and I will be back there soon, provided theres some good weather.

6 responses

  1. kirk Hille

    Nice work , like the colors and composition
    Was that a single RAW file made into 2 exposures or two separate shots ?
    Did you use Photoshop and make two layers and erase the different exposures from the shots you didnt want ?
    Or use the HDR function with Photoshop .

    March 24, 2008 at 2:56 pm

  2. dylanfox

    I only have photoshop 7.0 which doesnt have the HDR thing as far as i know. I just made it two layers out of two seperate photos and did the eraser thing. I think it worked pretty well.
    cheers

    March 24, 2008 at 5:08 pm

  3. jamiepaterson1

    Yeah I like it Dylan. Well done.

    March 24, 2008 at 7:31 pm

  4. kirkhille

    Hey Dylan ,
    Just read on Spools blog you are looking for a new camera .
    Dont know if you have seen this site but you can get a new Canon 5 D for around $2,800

    A few of my friends have ordered from this site and said it was fast and reliable .

    http://www.digitalrev.com

    What camera and lens are you shooting with at the moment ?

    March 25, 2008 at 12:40 am

  5. dylanfox

    Kirk, I’m still using my first camera, the 400D, yeah it might not be a pro camera but I still love it and I think it gets the job done.
    when I do upgrade I’ll get a 5D, but without a job at the moment, that may be a while away.
    This photo I used the sigma 10-20mm, since I wasn’t stitching. Before I really got into stitching I went out and thought that a wide angle was the best option. Now when I stitch I use the lens that came with the camera, I think it’s 18-55mm. But I have used the 10-20mm at 20mm a few times to stitch.

    March 25, 2008 at 5:15 pm

  6. dylanfox

    I found out this isnt North Beach, it’s Watermans Bay.
    I might go to a little bay called Watermans Reef this afternoon.

    March 26, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

