"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Dunsborough Has It All!!!

Here are three of my Dunsborough photos, i have a few more to go through, so i figured i would put these up for now.

bunker-bay-jpeg1001.jpg

This is a 4 image stitch, from Bunker Bay at sunrise. The light was pretty even, but some of the colours weren’t very vibrant.

meelup-beach-jpeg1001.jpg

For those of you who were at Christians course, this is my Meelup up shot that i mentioned i took that day. I really like it! I had never seen water this nice and the white fluffy clouds were a bonus. This one is a 8 or 9 image stitch, cant quite remember.

sugarloaf-rock-jpeg1001.jpg

I took this photo the same morning as the Bunker Bay shot, but it wasn’t until about 8am. the light was still good, and the clouds still had some colour to them. It’s an 11 image stitch (the most photos i have ever stitched). The swell was pretty big and waves were smashing through the rock’s. So i wanted to have a lengthy exposure time to get the white blurs in the water. With no ND filter i slapped on the old circular polariser (despite the stitching problems i was well aware of) and then held the dark part of my grad filter over that. I think because of the clouds, low and even light, the polariser didn’t affect my stitching. By doing that, this is what i came up with. It’s my favourite image from the weekend so far, but i still have a few more to go through!

busselton-jetty-jpeg1001.jpg

Saturday morning i got up and drove to Busselton to get a photo of the jetty. Just as the sun was coming up a big hole opened up in the clouds which gave an intense pink sky. The lighting worked out really well, being light over the little hut things, then getting darker to the right under the clouds.

cape-naturaliste-jpeg100.jpg

When I was driving down Sugarloaf road, I stopped at the look out just before you get to the Sugarloaf Rock parking lot, to look along the coast.The minute i stepped out of the car I thought that it would work as a Peter Eastway style shot. I think I have done pretty well. It took a lot of looking through Peter’s website, and this is what I have got. This snap is a 6 image stitch. I think it is fair to say that he is extremely good at what he does!

Let me know what you think, and keep an eye out for more to come!

13 responses

  1. thomasparkes

    Hi Dylan,
    I like the colour of the bottom one, nice deep greens of the ocean. Keep up the great work, also check out my new blog http://thomasparkes.wordpress.com thought I’d start one up to keep me motivated and get me out there photographing, Just put few up from sunrise the other morning.

    March 10, 2008 at 7:46 pm

  2. Nice shots, mate! Wish I could have been down there. I really like the last two shots – busselton jetty and sugarloaf.. If you’re ever going down to dunsborough again, i’d be keen to go with ya. Can’t wait to see your other shots from the weekend.

    March 11, 2008 at 12:01 am

  3. dylanfox

    Beau mate, Dunsborough was awesome! It’s a photographers heaven down there. Christians course was excellent as well! You should definitely try and go to his next one.
    Yeah i would love to go back to Dunsborough! One of the guys i met there, has a on site caravan, and he invited me and Neil (spool) to go down one time. That makes accomodation easy, and you might be able to come…
    We should try and organise a weekend or during the week for a couple days if that works best, to get down there.

    Cheers

    March 11, 2008 at 12:17 am

  4. I work fridays and saturdays so during the week would be awesome. I’ve already met Neil so it’ll be pretty cool to go down with you guys. Anyway, keep up the good work.

    March 11, 2008 at 10:23 am

  5. kirkhille

    Great shots Dylan ,
    Really liked the top shot .
    I was working that weekend othwise i would have been down at Christian course as well .
    Defiantly going on the next and probally try to get a few shot while im down there as well

    March 11, 2008 at 11:11 am

  6. dylanfox

    Cheers Kirk!
    Dunsborough has to be one of the nicest towns around. Amazing locations left, right and center. I’m begining to plan my next trip down there already.
    As for Christian’s course, it is more than worth it. You will learn invaluable tools, tricks and tips. It’s very laid back, and Christian is a top bloke.

    Dylan

    March 11, 2008 at 11:41 am

  7. Nice pics Dylan, just something to look at, are you sharpening your thumbs you put on the website and blog. They could do with a bit I think to crisp them up. try an amount of between 100 and 300, a radius of 0.3 and a threshold of 0. Otherwise well done mate. It’s nice to go somewhere different to shoot isn’t it.

    cheers

    March 11, 2008 at 12:23 pm

  8. dylanfox

    thanks Christian. I haven’t been sharpening the pics i put on my site. since i am still using photoshop on the old computer its a bit more time consuming. However, i just received a email from my step brother in Melbourne, who has just started photography, and mentioned that he has CS3, so i might be able to get his copy!

    cheers

    Dylan

    March 11, 2008 at 2:02 pm

  9. Mark Temov

    Hey Dylan love your work. And you are only 17? Wow you must have had a great Photography teacher. Keep up the good work.

    March 11, 2008 at 9:51 pm

  10. dylanfox

    nah self taught mate! jj
    the NN3 MKII complete package is the head im looking at on this page
    http://www.nodalninja.com/order_nodal_ninja.html
    along with something like this
    http://www.praimaging.com.au/d948-112-manfrotto-338-levelling-base.html

    Cheers

    March 11, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  11. Some very nice images thee Dylan. I like the POV on the vertical Bunker Bay image.

    March 12, 2008 at 6:03 pm

  12. dylanfox

    Thanks Neal, I appreciate it!
    POV? whats that?

    cheers

    March 12, 2008 at 9:02 pm

  13. Point Of View

    March 12, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

